We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Food in Newnham”

Sala Thong Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 692 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$46
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thai Food in Newnham”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

good Thai food, with variety of dish to choose from. A prompt service.

parking maybe a bit tricky unless you are cheeky by parking in the Bella Italia car parking alternatively you could park in the Newnham park car park which is a 3-5 min walk away

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianlewis_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    59
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“great experience!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Delicious Thai food, one of the best dishes was fish with tamarind sauce and the best dessert was tapioca with coco milk. The service was really good !!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aranya S, Owner at Sala Thong Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Camila
Thanks for the positive feed back it really helps us . We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best thai I've had in Cambridge”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I do not understand why anybody would not like this restaurant if they enjoy thai food! This is by far the best thai food I've had in Cambridge, possibly the UK. I have visited several times and never been disappointed, with the service, the quality of food, with anything. It is quite small and always busy on the weekend but we have never waited too long for service or food. The red duck curry and green chicken curry are both delicious and the coconut steamed rice is incredible!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chels_LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aranya S, Owner at Sala Thong Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for the great review , and we look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pretty great flavours ~ ingredients could be fresher”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The green curry was excellently flavoured, and the aubergines were good (although was hoping for little thai aubergines). The portion size was better than most. The raw papaya salad was good, although they could have used birds eye chilies instead of the regular red chilies. The stir fry was a bit soggy and onion-heavy but the prawns were tasty. Lovely cosy feel to the restaurant and the waitresses were very pleasant. Book if you want a table past 6.30pm on the weekend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoMunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aranya S, Owner at Sala Thong Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi there
Thanks for visiting our restaurant and we are happy you had a good experience at sala thong. Regarding your green curry. We do use Thai aubergines in our green curry so I am sorry that you didn't get any in your curry . Next time you eat at sala thong mention it to the staff to make sure you get some In your dish , we also use Thai birds eye red chillies in our papaya salad but we only put one in each portion so as it's not to spicy and by the time it's crushed it's hard to tell what chilli it is. If you prefer more chilli we can always add extra if it's not to your flavour but we can't take it away.
Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again .
Regards
Aranya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This small, out of the way Thai restaurant packs a punch. The food (all the usual suspects) is fresh, balanced, and very tasty. The service was very attentive. And all for a good price. If you're looking for a good Thai meal in Cambridge - or, indeed, just a good meal - then this is the place to come.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cantab_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aranya S, Owner at Sala Thong Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thanks Phil for reviewing our restaurant , we are glad you had a good experience and hope to see you soon
Aranya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Thong Restaurant also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sala Thong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing