We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations . very good”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #459 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$30 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Cambridge Jesus Lane offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations . very good”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Again Pizza express delivered great food and excellent service. This was my 2nd visit to a pizza express ,and again they delivered 100%. The food was lovely , the order was 100 % accurate ,and the service was faultless.
I initially had worries , as i was booking a table for 6 adults and seven children on a monday night at 7 pm ,and i know that this could spell disaster in a poorly run restaurant , but our lovely waitress Linda ,took control of the booking from start ,to finish and everything was spot on and well executed . Later on she told me she had worked there for 25 years ,and her competence,and the smoothness of the whole evening was testament to her experience . The venue is also lovely and i look forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    92
    52
    22
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Child-friendly restaurant in central location”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Pizza Express in Jesus Lane is in a central location, with a car park round the corner, and free parking in the street after 18.30.

We were 8 people, including 4 children aged 8 to 14. We had antipasti, pizza, dessert and drinks. The two youngest children shared a pizza which was cut in half for them beforehand. The meal came to nearly £20 per person.

The food was nicely presented, served quickly, patiently and with a smile, and was good value for money.

The restaurant occupies the ground flour of the impressive Pitt Club building. The room we were in, was large with long ornate mirrors on the wal and big black and white floor tiles.

There was plenty of room between the tables, so we had enough privacy.

Although it was early on a weekday evening, the room was crowded and quite noisy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophia1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food and staff but echoey surroundings”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Ok I have strange feelings about this place, I have tried it twice.

The pizza was nice, the staff were nice, the service was nice, but I found that the main eating area was really echoey which made the room a constant wall of noise going on in the background with people talking louder and louder to talk over the echo.

Adding to that our visit in the summer time when there were also families with screaming children adding to the ever increasing echoey drone I found it a little off putting to the whole experience.

It's a really great looking place though and had a lot of potential, it just needs some soft drapes or some wall fabrics maybe to soak up some of the bouncing sound waves.

It gave me a feeling of being back at school dinner time where you are in a big hall of noise - ok for a quick snack dinner - bring your mp3 player and headphones ;)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shadzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice night out”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

service and food every good look out for vouchers to save you money

Helpful?
Thank dreamacer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent :)”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Had a bite of lunch at Pizza Express Jesus Lane today, new items on the menu for christmas, tried the new pizza, very nice! Service was welcoming, fast and friendly, excellent setting too :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catsaffron79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing