We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #448 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$30 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Cambridge Jesus Lane offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Yes it's standard Pizza Express fare. But the dining area is very atmospheric, stylishly nudging towards something bigger and better than a pizza joint.

Mix in friendly staff and a good location in the centre of Cambridge, this is a great choice for a bite to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    91
    51
    22
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't get as far as eating. My son wanted to use the loo, but the gents was out of order and the disabled was disgusting. We told the manager that we wouldn't be eating there - if the front of house is that filthy, what will the kitchen be like? I offered to pay for the drinks we ordered, but, to be fair, they didn't take any money. Even so, we won't be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearsiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free pizza base in mainstream pizzeria!! Well Done !! Pizza Express !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Gluten free pizza base with pizza topping of choice from main menu. They were even happy to replace mozzarella, usual on all their pizzas, with Goats Cheese, as a non-dairy option, 'specially for me. And with a smile. I asked for the same gluten free base with substitute goats cheese at their Regent Street, Cambridge branch the next day too. exactly the same, "No Problem, Madam", with big smile from new waitress on her first day. Had the "Veneziana" both times. Delicious !! But also couldn't resist some of my husband's " Sloppy Giuseppe " , equally delicious. Actually, it's nearly lunchtime now. " Sweetheart, fancy a Pizza?" :-) Ps: the Jesus Lane branch is worth a visit for ambience alone. It's a converted period ballroom with floor to ceiling silvering mirrored walls and marble floors. Great "WOW" factor. Take your loved one!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcellus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Poshest pizza express I've ever been to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I went three weeks ago with my gf while visiting Cambridge for the weekend. We were hungry and pizza express never fails to disappoint me. And this was no exception, I got my usual order of dough balls for starters then for mains I ordered the normal cheese tomato with extra cheese pizza ! I think I should have taken a picture of my pizza, it was cheese overload!

The inheritor was quite something to behold, I've been to a few in the city of London before and they are never decked out like this place was like a royal palace, chandeliers, all the colonnades, beautiful!

Waiter was great as always, she went the extra mile I think with my gfs dietary restrictions, as she has a lactose intolerance combined with her gluten intolerance. Every time we asked what was in what she promptly went to the chef and asked with a smile!

Lovely place to go and eat with your loved ones.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nuur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly with tasty selection of foods.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This restaurant has several outlets, yet each one has its own touch of individuality. I enjoyed a delicious salad, my friends a pizza and we shared a house wine of good flavour. We shall return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rasata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing