We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub grub”
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Ranked #141 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chequers Public House situated in the centre of the village of Cottenham six miles north of Cambridge. Recently renovated, The Chequers is a traditional free house pub with a bar and restaurant. In the bar we have a variety of cask ales including Adnams, locally brewed Fellows, plus guest ales together with a varied wine list to suit all pallets and pockets! We also feature Aspall cider, a range of lagers, spirits and soft drinks. The menu offers traditional favourites at an affordable price and roasts on Sundays.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we decided to venture out from our hotel in Cambridge, after along drive up. didn't want to go too far, but far enough to get out of Cambridge.
I'd heard about the chequers from a friend, and decided to give it a try.
there was a good selection of traditional pub grub on the menu.
it was nicely prepared, and arrived reasonably quickly. really tasty and filling.
Nice to try somewhere different, and was pleasantly surprised, thanks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beefydan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jolly good pizza”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent quality pizza (thin and crispy, made by an Italian chef in a newly built wood fired pizza oven), well kept real ale and friendly staff. Do note that the sign said that the pizza menu is only available Thursday–Saturday plus Monday. They had a pub food menu as well (not reviewed here).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABritishChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Drinks Menu, Average Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the chequers pub recently and I have to say that the staff are really personable and lovely, the drinks on offer are varied and different. I had a lovely red ale from adnams which I hadn't seen before and my dad had a nice black lager, again something different.

Despite is, where the lovely ambiance of a country pub is strong, there seems to be someone distinctly ordinary about the food. I really don't think it would take much to significantly improve the food here, I don't think that the menu necessarily needs improving but e quality of the presentation and flavours need raising to bring the punters in to this pub as it was almost completely empty!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely evening in a friendly local pub”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were really impressed by the service from the friendly staff at the Chequers. The beer and wine were both excellent and the atmosphere was brilliant. For a Friday night it seemed a bit quiet at first but by about 8pm it was filling up nicely with some people just enjoying a drink and others their for an evening meal.
There was a large selection of food on the menu from standard pub food to something a bit posher. We really enjoyed our starters, and the mains were pretty good too, although possibly slightly under-seasoned. We couldn't fit in a dessert sadly, but there was a lot of choice and they seemed very reasonable at around £5, which included a tea or coffee. We will definitely return as it was a really lovely evening and there are many more meals on the menu we want to try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJ1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
“Surprisingly awful!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Having heard good things about this pub I was shocked to be served a greasy, dry mess this evening. I have rarely experienced food so horrible..was the chef off sick?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing