We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Lunch”
Review of Backstreet Bistro - CLOSED

Backstreet Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Farnham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a gem. Recommended by a friend, we went here for a family lunch for 8 people.
The food was exceptional! Absolutely delicious. Everyone happy with both starters and mains and no room for the delicious looking deserts unfortunately! The menu was diverse with something for everyone. A little pricey, but well worth it - good value for money.
Great service throughout. We will definitely return. Only wish we lived closer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    75
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Breakfast is awesome. ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast or brunch around 3 times with really good friends. Eggs Benedict is out of this world and we always return because if this! Staff always attentive and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than Browns!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went on Friday night. Attentive service but didn't feel we were being forced to buy loads of alcohol as soon as possible, something that happens in too many Cambridge restaurants. Asked for a quite seat as one of the group had hearing problems, and were given one. Food delicious, good choice and attractively presented. Wonderful atmosphere hidden in a 'back street'. Beats our recent visit to Browns by miles. Thank you

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grev2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This remains one of my all time favourite Cambridge restaurants and I'd recommend it to anyone without question (and have!). Food is simply perfect, wine choice is wide and the service is friendly but knowledgeable (especially re the wine). A tucked away gem indeed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I, and two friends, went to the Backstreet Bistro for brunch last Saturday. Happily, we had one of the best brunch experiences we've had: this is a great alternative to Bill's or Fitzbillie's. The wide and interesting array of food was of a really high quality, and was all very well prepared. The cocktails were also very excellent, and and I had a very enjoyable Bloody Mary - strong and spicy, but not overpowering. The service was brilliant; some of the best we've ever experienced in Cambridge. Our only criticism concerns the rather watery coffee: nothing too offensive, but we expected a lot better. I would recommend visiting without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cantab_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backstreet Bistro also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing