We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK - but definitely not going back”
Review of India House

India House
Ranked #215 of 689 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK - but definitely not going back”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Compared to the Indian food I have had in dozens of restaurants across three contents (Asia, North America and Europe), I would rate this restaurant no more than "OK." I ordered garlic chicken curry and vegetable rice. They had all the spices, but tasted funny - like some important ingredient was missing. Overall, it was nowhere near good enough to attract me back and I can not recommend it anyone looking for great Indian food. But I liked the ambiance and location and the service was courteous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    21
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This restaurant is lovely. However I would expect to get two course meal in less than 40 minutes especially when the restaurant is half empty. The cuisine is delicious and I would be happy to recommend to anyone willing to try Indian food in Cambridge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average Indian”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am dragged here every so often by other people's unaccountable affection for this place. The service is hit and miss, the sauces bland and same-ish (except for the Chicken Shakooti, which is just unsubtly over spiced), the meat remarkably tough and low quality (the point of cooking something in a Tandoor is it can produce remarkably a succulent and tender result... What's gone wrong here?), and to top it off your pint of lager is often just a little 'short'.

If you love Indian there are some really good options in Cambridge - this sadly really isn't one of them. Go to Mill Road and spend your money there.

PS - having to take your child into the loo here is a fairly horrifying experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brettcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Food was SO GOOD. Service a little slow, but very friendly.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My friend and I were desperate for a curry so we stopped here while meandering through Cambridge. We got a table very quickly, but it was a little while before a drink order was taken. They were clearly very busy. The house wine was nice enough.

The poppadoms were great, lovely mango chutney. The onion bhajis were great! The mains were excellent but we were so full that we ended up taking the leftovers home. The chicken jalfrezi was delightfully spicy.

Very pleased, would absolutely go back and hope to do so soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best curry in Cambridge”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The dhansak here is exceptional. The staff always remember returning customers as well, which is a nice touch. Curries are slightly hotter than you expect, so perhaps order a slightly milder one than you usually would

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing