We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael P
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Great rooms and breakfast

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2020
Four of have just come back today and we had a fantastic time. Rooms are really well equipped and have everything you need. Breakfast is amazing the best we have had anywhere. Stuart certainly knows what he is going from full English to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to avocado with poached eggs amazing. Fabulous trip up the river perfect. Please book as you will not be disappointed. We will be back
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£205
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £205
  • Hotels.com
    £205
0.1 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Tripadvisor
    £90
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
£260
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £260
  • Agoda.com
    £206
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
£135
    0.4 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    entrance to hotel
    £80
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      £80
    • Agoda.com
      £67
    • Priceline
    0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    £145
    Fully refundable
    • Trip.com
    0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    £89
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      £110
    • Agoda.com
      £92
    0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £105
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
      £105
    0.7 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £80
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      £80
    0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
    View more hotels in Ely
    Reviews (103)
    Filter reviews
    103 results
    Traveller rating
    88
    15
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    88
    15
    0
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 103 reviews
    Reviewed 5 August 2020

    Wow wow wow Waternimf is amazing. . Probably one of the best places in the world I have ever stayed. We stayed on Sunday night me and my husband and stayed in the stern cabin. The bed was very comfortable the bath was small but perfectly formed even for a large lady like me. Stuart and the young guy helping out couldn't do enough for us and breakfast was great local produce and cooked very well. Loved sitting on deck and watching the world go by. Everything was provided apart from toothpaste and brushes lol so I could have taken a lighter bag. We will definetly be returning Thank you Stuart.

    Date of stay: August 2020
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank donna639
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 July 2020 via mobile

    Booked for a romantic night away for our anniversary.
    Great location for an unusual getaway. Rooms are compact but fully equipped. Love the fresh milk in the room on arrival. Bed was super comfy and the breakfast was 5 star. Ask expertly cooked. Excellent quality produce and nothing too much trouble.
    Will be highly recommending Hotel Barge Waternimf to everyone to know.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Y5095JNsarahm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 March 2020

    The Waternimf is probably the nicest place I have ever had the pleasure to stay. Beautiful cabin decked out with super high quality furnishings and a cosy atmosphere. The bed was extremely comfy and the shower room gorgeous with a lovely powerful hot shower and heated towel rails. The porthole looked out onto a peaceful rippling canal and I woke up to the birds singing and a gentle breeze. The breakfast was superb, freshly made and delicious. Thank you so much, highly recommend.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    2  Thank annacatlin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 February 2020

    We’ve visited twice this winter season and will do so again.

    The barge is immaculately presented and with a good breakfast it represents excellent value.

    It is accommodation with a difference and perfectly suited to the agreeable cathedral City that is Ely.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Garrofer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 December 2019

    Stunning barge, beautifully converted to a boutique hotel. Very comfortable bed with plenty of storage underneath including a safe. Very powerful shower in the cabin with toiletries provided. The most delicious breakfast cooked to order by Stuart the host, with plenty of choices for everyone possible.

    Perfect location within walking distance of the cathedral & other tourist sites. Just along from the huge antique centre. Very close to the station. What more could you ask for?

    We will definitely return.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JenC14
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews