We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Catherine W

Fantastic Unique Location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2020
My daughter and I have just enjoyed an amazing 3 nights on Hotel Barge Waternimf!
It’s clean, comfortable, with everything you need. Stuart (the owner) was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and he makes a lovely breakfast.
We enjoyed chilling on the deck with a book and a glass of wine on an evening and had breakfast on deck on a morning. It was peaceful and relaxed and a unique experience.

On our last morning they took us out on the boat and we got a chance to steer which was a great experience.

Ely is is lovely town with plenty of restaurants and nice walks/cycle routes along the river.

Would highly recommend staying here, we’ll definitely be back again.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £175
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £181
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Standard
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £90
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
entrance to hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
View more hotels in Ely
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
88
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
88
15
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Four of have just come back today and we had a fantastic time. Rooms are really well equipped and have everything you need. Breakfast is amazing the best we have had anywhere. Stuart certainly knows what he is going from full English to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to avocado with poached eggs amazing. Fabulous trip up the river perfect. Please book as you will not be disappointed. We will be back

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

Wow wow wow Waternimf is amazing. . Probably one of the best places in the world I have ever stayed. We stayed on Sunday night me and my husband and stayed in the stern cabin. The bed was very comfortable the bath was small but perfectly formed even for a large lady like me. Stuart and the young guy helping out couldn't do enough for us and breakfast was great local produce and cooked very well. Loved sitting on deck and watching the world go by. Everything was provided apart from toothpaste and brushes lol so I could have taken a lighter bag. We will definetly be returning Thank you Stuart.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank donna639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2020 via mobile

Booked for a romantic night away for our anniversary.
Great location for an unusual getaway. Rooms are compact but fully equipped. Love the fresh milk in the room on arrival. Bed was super comfy and the breakfast was 5 star. Ask expertly cooked. Excellent quality produce and nothing too much trouble.
Will be highly recommending Hotel Barge Waternimf to everyone to know.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Y5095JNsarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2020

The Waternimf is probably the nicest place I have ever had the pleasure to stay. Beautiful cabin decked out with super high quality furnishings and a cosy atmosphere. The bed was extremely comfy and the shower room gorgeous with a lovely powerful hot shower and heated towel rails. The porthole looked out onto a peaceful rippling canal and I woke up to the birds singing and a gentle breeze. The breakfast was superb, freshly made and delicious. Thank you so much, highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank annacatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2020

We’ve visited twice this winter season and will do so again.

The barge is immaculately presented and with a good breakfast it represents excellent value.

It is accommodation with a difference and perfectly suited to the agreeable cathedral City that is Ely.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Garrofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews