We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marilyn H

Relaxing stay, wonderful location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jun 2021
Just returned from an amazing overnight stay on this quirky very comfortable barge. Stuart is a wonderful host, interesting and very knowledgeable. Initially we were concerned about staying overnight in these strange times following the pandemic but there was no reason to worry, in fact we wished we could have stayed another night. Stuart's amazing breakfast was Michelin star quality. Thank you for a very enjoyable overnight stay we hope to be back again as soon as possible for a longer period.
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Standard
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £204
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
entrance to hotel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.0 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    £133
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £105
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    £105
0.7 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £90
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Hotel Barge Waternimf
View more hotels in Ely
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
88
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
88
15
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2021

We just got back from a relaxing weekend break in Ely staying on the Waternimf hotel barge, we was welcomed on-board by Stuart and offered red and white wine as a welcome drink, currently only cabin now being offered is one at rear of barge (I think 'the stern' in boatperson lingo :) ), absolutely lovely cabin with your own sitting/lounging area, this basically means you are only people on the barge,excluding owners Fiona n Stuart, which makes you feel really privaleged, sitting outside being delivered a breakfast of fruit, Muslims yoghurt combo, fresh orange juice, tea, coffee,toast, then Stuart's enormous cooked breakfast, beautifully cooked and top notch ingredients, amazing
A couple of small things that I think would enhance guests stay even more at the 'stern' cabin would be a of comfy chairs to sit in evening outside on deck as the Bistro chairs are ok for eating breakfast but not to relax on, and maybe a mini fridge in lounging area, although Stuart

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROLYPOLYESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2020

Due to current Government restrictions only part of the barge is being used so please do not be concerned.

We have just spent two amazing nights on here. It is a truly quirky experience and one I would not have missed. We were so pleased we booked two nights rather than the original one we had planned.

We had everything we needed in our room. Tea, coffee, water, hairdryer, towels and robes are all supplied, and even a glass of wine when you arrive! There is a lot of attention to detail.

Stuart’s breakfasts deserve a Michelin star….Full English on the first morning and his special Avocado salad with crispy bacon and perfect poached eggs on the second morning.

We were worried the barge may be cold in October but it was warm and welcoming and the weather was kind enough to allow us to sit on deck and watch the world go by.

If you want something a little bit different during these very strange times don’t hesitate to book

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

The Waternimf is quirky and fun. It is a Dutch barge, built in 1902. Moored on the River Great Ouse in the city of Ely. The accommodation is very well equipped and fitted out to a very high standard. We slept really well. Location is handy for the centre of Ely, cathedral and the railway station. Breakfast was excellent. The owner comes aboard and cooks it fresh in the galley. An added bonus was that we got to enjoy a cruise along the rivers Great Ouse and Cam. Excellent. Stuart was a great host and we would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank maxb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2020

My daughter and I have just enjoyed an amazing 3 nights on Hotel Barge Waternimf!
It’s clean, comfortable, with everything you need. Stuart (the owner) was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and he makes a lovely breakfast.
We enjoyed chilling on the deck with a book and a glass of wine on an evening and had breakfast on deck on a morning. It was peaceful and relaxed and a unique experience.

On our last morning they took us out on the boat and we got a chance to steer which was a great experience.

Ely is is lovely town with plenty of restaurants and nice walks/cycle routes along the river.

Would highly recommend staying here, we’ll definitely be back again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Four of have just come back today and we had a fantastic time. Rooms are really well equipped and have everything you need. Breakfast is amazing the best we have had anywhere. Stuart certainly knows what he is going from full English to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to avocado with poached eggs amazing. Fabulous trip up the river perfect. Please book as you will not be disappointed. We will be back

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews