We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Ranked #2 of 25 Ely B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very stylish B&B, with lovely welcoming rooms, warm and clean, with everything we needed. The owner, Joanne, was very friendly and helpful. Even on a December night, we felt snug and cosy in our rooms. Breakfast was excellent, with just about anything we could ask for. Fresh juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and an enormous full English, plus lashings of toast and as much tea and coffee as we wanted. Superb! I have recommended Grove Barn to our family locally and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

The owner, Joanne, went out of her way to provide us with everything we could possibly need, going over and above what we expected.
Our rooms were spotless, warm and cosy on a windy December night, and the breakfast the next morning was wonderful.
A delicious meal at The Anchor Inn just a few steps up the road, added to a wonderful weekend.
Would certainly look forward to a return visit if we have cause to be in the area again.
Thank you Joanne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryF1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were greeted by the charming owner on arrival, made welcome and shown to our lovely room. The rooms are all modern, tastefully decorated and have everything you need. It was a wild, wet, windy November evening but the room was snug and the efficient shower and bathroom allowed us to freshen up before venturing out. Just 100m down the road is a very nice pub / restaurant called The Anchor where we had a fantastic meal. We woke in the morning to lovely views of the delightful gardens of the property and across open farm land to the fens. We then went into the owners barn conversion (a truly beautiful building) for a very tasty home cooked full English breakfast. This was made from local produce and was accompanied by all the usual breakfast goodies and lots of lovely fresh coffee. We would strongly recommend this b&b and it is in an ideal location if you are visiting Cambridge or Ely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited this B & B twice this year, once with friends, recently with family. Both occasions we stayed in the annex, firstly in the Loft Room, latterly in the Barn Room. Both are compact but beautifully equipped, clean and very comfortable. Joanne, mine hostess, is great. Always willing to do whatever is needed to make a holiday retreat to Grove Barn a happy time, we have experienced her willingness to go beyond "the extra" mile even at extraordinary personal cost. A lovely hostess, comfortable accommodation, then, to top it all off, there is the traditional full "English" breakfast. All beautifully prepared, cooked and presented, experience indicates that whilst the temptation is always to "go for it", the appetite just can't compete. It may be just me, but the full "English" at Grove Barn is not something you can maintain for too long. Comfortable, well appointed rooms, a fantastic breakfast of choice, a lovely hostess, a convenient location between both Ely and Cambridge. What more could anyone want? There's a very nice gastro pub 2 minutes walk away. Great!

Room Tip: The Loft Room is restricted in width due to low roof eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnockOutKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful accommodation where everything was of the highest quality and we received a warm, friendly welcome. The furnishings, breakfast and hospitality were all fabulous.

I would certainly stay here again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Well if you could I would !
This is a really lovely find out about 8 miles from Ely down a little lane.
The 3 rooms ( one in loft ) are in an annexe and although not huge are beautifully equipped,
spotlessly clean and tidy and very comfortable.
The view from the loft room is over open fields and their lovely garden.
The breakfast is superb - with a full fry up on offer as well as a good variety of teas and cereal.
Joanne is the perfect host and when we left it was almost like we had known her for ages.
Great place- to be recommended.
The Anchor Inn is about 2 minutes walk up the road which is unlit but of course Joanne thought of that and provides an umbrella and a torch in each room .
The food at The Anchor was completely lovely so do go there for a drink at least.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just returned from 4 nights here. Really lovely rooms in a quiet location. Everything is spotless and well equipped. We had the Garden Room which was lovely. Compact bathroom can be a challenge but soon got used to it.
Joanne was a great host and gave us some good steers for eating out nearby. Really enjoyed our breakfasts in the main house, a beautifully done barn conversion. We would definitely recommend this great b&b handy for Ely & Cambridge.

Room Tip: Enjoy the peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
6.7 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
633 reviews
6.5 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
227 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
392 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#8 of 25 in Ely
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Barn Cambridgeshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Barn Cambridgeshire

Address: Bury Lane | Sutton Gault, Ely CB6 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Barn Cambridgeshire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Grove Barn Cambridgeshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing