We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nyton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Little Downham Anchor(Little Downham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Worlington Hall(Mildenhall)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Horse Inn(Swaffham Bulbeck)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
31
47
33
25
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
47
33
25
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardenfluffy towels and toiletriesshort walkquiet areacooked to perfectioncomfortable nightstayed nightsfull englishcomfortable roomvery comfortable stayeating placesan evening mealguest house isone night stayplenty of hot waterold housebiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked 2 family rooms for 1 night - as we were attending a wedding nearby.

The family rooms were both large and child friendly, and there was no issue with arranging for an extra cot in one of the rooms. It ticks all the boxes for a family friendly stay: plenty of parking for large cars, it has a large garden that was good for the kids to run around, good breakfasts and no extra charge for beans and toast for the toddlers.

The bathrooms are clean and work well, but may need some modernizing. The rooms itself were well presented (if a little old-fashioned). There was wifi, free-view TV, and tea/coffee facilities, and bottled water. There is also a in-house pub - which we did not get a chance to try.

Overall, decent stay, especially for families with little ones - but slightly on the pricey side for Ely.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask for rooms on the 1st floor. Some of the rooms, are a further 2 flights up.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Tucked away between a quiet road and the golf course, this was an excellent base for discovering the many charms of Ely. Owners were charming, we didn't take evening meal here but perhaps we should have. Breakfast was very good if a little disorganized. Room was fine though couldn't turn heater off, owner receptive to comment. Would definitely stay here again, lovely 1920s 30s feel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stevo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Nyton was just what we wanted for an overnight stay in Ely - close to the city centre; friendly owner and staff, spacious family room which was both clean and had a wide range of facilities provided (TV, tea and coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer, bottled water - still and sparkling). Also looked like the bathroom had recently been refurbished - had great power shower and loads of fluffy towels and toiletries. The great full English breakfast was the icing on the cake. The hotel was built as a family home in 1925 and has been a B & B for the last 40 years (so we were told by the owners wife!). Retains it quaint family run feel and has a relaxing lounge and bar if required. Had absolutely no gripes about any element of our stay.

Room Tip: The spacious family room we had was number 8 - two floors up but enough space for a family of four (more than enough for the three of us!)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at the Nyton for one night while visiting friends in Ely. I walked from the station - approx 15 minutes. The hotel is in lovely grounds in a quiet area surrounded by high hedges and trees. Checking in and out was effortless and the staff friendly and helpful. Easy access to the hotel if coming back late. Comfortable room. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank begsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We enjoyed another excellent meal in the hotel restaraunt
Surprisingly there was only one other couple eating so it was a very relaxing and quiet .environment.
We all had the stuffed chicken breast for main course, which was excellent. The portion of chicken was generous, and was beautifully cooked, and flavoured. The fresh vegetables were cooked just right and complemented the chicken perfectly
Starters and sweets were equally good, service was excellent, and served by the hotel owner Robert who was most obliging.

Room Tip: As we didn't stay at the hotel we are unable to comment
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews