We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost no parking, shabby, run down, rooms grim”
Review of Lamb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamb Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed for one night. Had to park ten minute walk away. Room cramped, shabby, bathroom old, dripping taps and pipes, headboard different size to bed, furniture old mis matched and dirty. Breakfast table dirty, waited nearly an hour for food. Staff lax. Overall bad experience would not recommend and would never return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

we had a trip to Ely and decided to have lunch in this hotel as the board outside was advertising 2 meals for under £10. the food was good value , cooked nice and served by friendly staff, fish and chips was a good size for the price. i do feel that desserts are a little overpriced at over £4. each , but you can get a cheaper choice if you order off the meal deal menu, but there are only 2 options !! having said that , all in all we enjoyed our meal and did not NEED a dessert anyway ...we would definatly return here for a meal when in Ely

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubelle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed one night as a stop over & wanting to visit Ely Cathedral. Having read other TripAdvisor reports on this hotel we were dubious & would have stayed elsewhere but couldn't get in anywhere else! How glad are we because this was truly excellent - I think those who don't report good or excellent are simply mistaken - this is not a 5* Hilton (thank goodness) but as a 3* you will go a long way to better it. Brilliant staff - we will be returning if ever passing!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This could be a lovely hotel in the centre of Ely but it needs attention. We stayed for a weekend and our room was small, the bed a standard double and the room was only adequately furnished. The bathroom was very basic and needed updating. Staff were friendly at breakfast although we did have to ask 3 times for toast, they were busy but still it needs to be more efficient. The quality of food at breakfast was fine.
There is no air conditioning and so the room was noisy at night as it was necessary to have a window open. There is very little parking at the hotel which is inconvenient but there are public car parks nearby. Overall it needs updating and some money spending on it. If there was a decent alternative in Ely I would not stay at The Lamb again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendly staff , we note and appreciate your feedback and views on the hotel ...Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

First the good points: Very helpful staff, especially Toby. The food was OK... although the 'two main meal for £9.95' Sunday deal is excellent value, the roast was a little tired by 6.30, which was a pity as the breakfast was fine. We were on a Telegraph deal at £99 for 2 nights B&B which did give great value for a hotel in such a central position 200 metres or so from the Cathedral - but the small bed and incessant traffic noise meant that we would have been disappointed if we were paying the full tariff.
To sum up, good value on a 2for1 deal, but request a quiet room - and enjoy their fresh cuisine, not the roast.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 - it's right next to the traffic lights and the traffic is thunderous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks with regard to the Team , we are sorry the traffic noise disturbed you on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Room adequate, bathroom not so.Very small and basic.
No air conditioning in either the public rooms or the bedrooms.As the hotel is in the centre of Ely it made for a very disturbed night as we had to have the window wide open as it was an incredibly hot night .
Parking difficult but there are car parks within walking distance.
Bed very comfortable.
Didn't have dinner but breakfast was awful. I ordered mushrooms and scrambled eggs on toast.
I was given warmed white bread without any butter, 1 mushroom and rubberised lumps of what I supposed were once eggs.
We were attending a wedding in Ely so for the convenience it was spot on.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Team we are sorry that your room was extremely hot during your stay , we do have fans which are available from reception...as the Lamb is an old coaching Inn , all our rooms and bathrooms are different sizes... our apologies again'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

It's been a while since I've stayed at a 3-star hotel and the Lamb seems to be the only hotel in central Ely, so I was afraid that their monopoly position might result in the take-it-or-leave-it attitude that blights British hospitality and is the opposite of customer service. I was pleasantly surprised, therefore, on entering our room to find two rooms -- bedroom and sitting room -- separated by an archway, and a six-foot-wide bed.

The hotel's position is terrific, a couple of minutes' walk from the cathedral and the staff are pleasant and friendly. We had dinner in and it was ordinary pub food but perfectly acceptable. The service was slow which was not the fault of the cheerful staff who were bustling about madly but, presumably, the management for not employing enough of them. Breakfast was excellent -- plenty of fresh fruit and a good full English (though it's never quite full without a slice of black pudding, IMO); plenty of other options, too, such as eggs Benedict and smoked salmon with scrambled egg.

I do have a few niggles. The car park is so small that there is little hope of getting a space and parking in Ely, while free, is subject to apparently random rules about how long you can park, which meant we had to move the car three times during our stay of less than 24 hours. I'm a reasonable person and I can see that the hotel has no room to expand its parking (though surely a barrier would prevent random parking by locals?) and no control over street parking but it's something to bear in mind in any city visit.

Then there's the free wifi. Why do so many hotels make such a pig's ear of this? All that's needed is a password, but I could access the wifi on my basic Kindle only by entering loads of personal details which I don't really want to give and which would have taken ages on a virtual keyboard, so I gave up.

Then there's the fact that there was no one at reception either for check in or check out. Now, I can see that such a small hotel won't have someone permanent on -- it wouldn't be ergonomic -- but how about a bell to ring to summon someone? After a long hot drive and 20 minutes looking for a parking spot round the one-way system, I just wanted to get to my room and freshen up.

So, all in all, highly recommended, but be prepared to keep moving your car.

Room Tip: We went for a superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbjkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.2 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
397 reviews
15 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,883 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing