We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Lamb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamb Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ely
bakewell
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for a short break and was very impressed.The hotel is very central,only two minutes from the magnificent cathedral.The room was spacious and simply furnished but warm and comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were so good we didn't bother looking for anywhere else to eat.the staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help.We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you had a pleasant time at the hotel and found both the rooms and food options excellent. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic stay for our guests. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience and also you found the team to be very friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    173
    153
    73
    48
See reviews for
84
221
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On arrival on Friday evening we were directed by the barman to the reception - this was not staffed, after waiting about 15 mins the barman attempted to find the receptionist & stated that she would be there in a minute - another ten minutes & still no sign. The barman came and found us a room key.
The room was very dated - also very hot & the beds were really soft (which resulted in bad backs in the morning). Whilst the sash window could be opened - it didn't stay open & the curtains had to be kept drawn as the room is overlooked by the hotel corridor which is just across the court yard (maybe they should have nets?).
The burger & chips served in the bar was really nice & good value for money.
The English breakfast was disappointing - with cold beans & sausages that weren't very nice.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to shave your thoughts about our hotel. As a new team at the hotel, we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. However, it delights me to say a training plan and hotel improvement plan has since been rolled out for both the team and hotel in order for improvements to be made. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ely hotels

Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on Saturday 1st March 2014,was pleasantly surprised by both the good quality of our room and the size of it.Also pleased with the friendliness of the staff.Breakfast was excellent.All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Don't take notice of the negative write ups
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
My team and I are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was impressed by us. Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here back in january with a few friends of mine, we wanted to visit the cathedral and the town itself and this hotel seemed the ideal location, and indeed it was.
I've stayed in other old english inns before so knew roughly what to expect, I did feel with this one the rooms could do with a little touch of... well just some colour really. Apart from that they are adequate for your stay. Did not bump into many of the staff until it came to dinner in the restaurant, a very busy place!! Food was good, but more outstanding was the services of the member of staff looking after us- he said he was the assistant manager
nathan. Nothing was too much trouble despite the fact he appeared to be doing lots of jobs at once, he was beyond polite and friendly and it made our evening very enjoyable. Even if we were not staying in the hotel again, I think we would return here just for the food/ambience and the friendliness and
'All out' effort of the few staff we met.
That and the fact the catherdral was truly stunning!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratch36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
My team and I are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband & I stayed here on Valentine's Day. Lovely meal in the restaurant. Waitress & barman were great.
The room was nice but we booked a double & got 2 singles pushed together which split apart, iron didn't heat properly, diffuser wouldn't stay on the hairdryer & there was no hot water for a shower. Manager told us that the hot water situation always happened because everyone was using the shower & that we should wait 30mins & the hairdryer wasn't theirs! We found this an unsatisfactory explanation & the morning manager told us this was untrue! Breakfast was fab! We were given £30 off our £100 room charge but felt this was still too expensive. Would eat here again but wouldn't book a room again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheevaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Comments good or bad are always appreciated. It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. Rest assured your thoughts will be shared with the whole team.

The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The room was comfortable - bathroom a little tired but there is ongoing renovation so perhaps this will be updated in time.
Breakfast is good with a sufficient range to set you up for the day. Location is excellent and a good place to explore Ely. Staff were friendly and helpful and work hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest
It was pleasing to read that your stay was positive, including the hotel's location, the friendly and efficient team, our breakfast offering.

We are aware of certain issues to do with the building and it pleases me to say that a maintenance programme is now currently live within the hotel along with a rolling programme to get all bedrooms up to standard to improve the guests experience of our hotel. Please rest assured that all your comments will be shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air to stay at such a relaxed and well run hotel.
The staff are really nice and welcoming. They are there for all your needs any time.
The bar is great with a all-round good selection of booze. The rooms are always clean and all different so far I have stayed in three different rooms.
The food is really nice with big portions. Its great to eat food that's so good quality at reasonable pricing.
Keep up all the good hard work it's a pleasure to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Rooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you had a positive experience of our hotel. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.2 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#11 of 34 in Ely
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ely
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Property: Lamb Hotel
Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing