We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't do the tour”

Oliver Cromwell's House
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Didn't do the tour”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Took ages to find it, all the signs kept saying it was so many yards away, I must have forgotten how long a yard was. Nice tourist information office, we did look through the window at the parlour but didn't look too exciting. If you want to know about Oliver Cromwell do the tour but I'm not a big fan so didn't bother. Nice how they had preserved the exterior

Helpful?
1 Thank Dipsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    207
    50
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“atmospheric”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Informative staff, audio tour, pictures, displays and written posters. Loved the foot warmer modelled by Mrs C. A shame most things are replicas, why does everything have to be in London, or maybe in Huntingdon? My next visit will be to that museum. Nevertheless I loved my visit here, a real piece of history come to life.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cornetplayer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

this was quite fun and you can learn a fair bit about Oliver Cromwell plus there is a room where you can try on armour and fashion of the day whiich would appeal to kids

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eve168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Bit of history buff so didn't really tell me anything that I did not already know. But it is a beautiful house and the audio guides were very imformative. Loved the kitchen and it really did feel like the heart of the home. The house is supposed to be haunted but sadly we did not experience anything. I did however find the moving models in some of the displays somewhat creepy!!! Well worth a visit though as lovely old building.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must do slice of english history”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stumbled on this little treasure by accident and if you like history it a must do. Its a typical medieval manor house close to the cathedral, nice when walking round to have the use of hand sets that describe the house and the life and times of Cromwell. There are a couple of quick movies included in the visit one on Cromwell and one of draining the fens which were informative and not the usual cheesey stuff. For a fiver its well worth an hour or so looking round and dipping into a bit of English history.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver Cromwell's House also viewed

 

Been to Oliver Cromwell's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing