We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first visit to Ely”
Review of Cathedral House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cathedral House
Ranked #7 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Possibly one of the most beautiful B&B's that we have stayed at in the UK. Jenny and Robin (the proprietors) are warm and friendly, and the house is stunning. Lovely breakfast and a really pretty garden in which to enjoy a few glasses of wine in the evening. If you stay here, book for dinner at The Old Fine Engine House just a few yards away, to make it the perfect mini break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SLester2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed for a second time, couple of years since last time. Don't think anything has been done to house or garden, so sad to see a house with such good bones neglected so much. Stay was fine, breakfast ok. Traffic noise a problem. Think a bit more effort would make the price more acceptable.

Room Tip: Not sure I can help here
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcdwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Probably the nicest place we have ever stayed at. The hosts of tastefully decorated their unique house, and were so friendly and informative. The breakfast was excellent. We can't speak highly enough. Will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 603Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well I have to say this came as something of a surprise. Not normally fans of B&B as can't help the feeling you're in someone else's house - which you are of course but hotels are more impersonal & not owned or lived in by the receptionists (you know what I mean I'm sure!).

This was recommended by another B&B up the road which was full up as there was a stamp auction on in Ely so when I phoned I was fully expecting to be told Cathedral House was full up too but we were in luck & duly made our reservation.

The first thing which struck us when we arrived was how close it is to not only the Cathedral but also Oliver Cromwell's House & Ely Museum - couldn't be better situated. Next up was the character & setting which was magical, through the door in the wall & it's like stepping back in time with a beautiful garden full of mature trees & bushes & lovely garden ornaments.

The house itself was in the same vein, full of character, lovingly maintained & with lots of amazing old books, knick-knacks,ornaments,pictures etc etc. We were shown to our room by Jenny who was very friendly & not only was the room superb (along with a great en-suite) but we also had exclusive use of the hallway outside which led to a private sitting room. Wasn't expecting that & it was great to have so much space to ourselves.

In the morning we had an excellent breakfast, freshly cooked, & met Robin with whom we put the world to rights for a good hour & a half! Apparently they used to live in London & guess where - yep, exactly where we live now, small world!

Very sorry to leave but places to go, people to see - we will certainly be back & I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grasmi909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Two minutes from Ely cathedral, I found this Bed and Breakfast a very different place to stay to any I have been in before. There were no rooms left in the main house but was offered a room in what normally is the self catering unit. All rooms in this unit were en-suite. The bathroom was "snug" but sifficient but anyone of large proportions may have a problem. Converted from the old stables , many of the original features still remain, and the current owners have furnished it sympathetically.. comments from other guests staying in the nore conventional house were also favourable. Hosts , Jennie and Robin are delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrestatynChanghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Tucked under the spires of Ely Cathedral, this cottage is a hidden gem. Leave the busy road, through the garden gate and you have a pleasant walled garden. Through another gate, into a cobbled courtyard and the old stables have been tastfully converted into a 5-person cottage.

The cottage is full of interesting items, approach the room from a different direction and you will always see something new. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with bijou en-suites in each. Each room was very clean, quite a task because this is as far from clutter-free as you could get.

The owners are very personable and knowledgeable, make sure you put aside a little time to talk with them.

Great location with good days out. We went to Duxford (don't forget to get tickets with Tesco Clubcard), The Newmarket National Stud (a bargain tour for £10) and an easy train journey into Cambridge (use the tour bus and visit Maddingley American Cemetry). Real Ale enthusiasts must visit the Liberty Belle (10 min walk).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesterGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The self catering cottage at Cathedral House is like stepping into The Secret Garden from the second you walk through the first gate into the B&B. As you walk the gravelled pathway surrounded by shrubs and flowers, another doorway leads you into a private courtyard that separates you from the bustle of the city completely. The cottage itself is well beyond what one could expect: every room is a treasure of well equipped comfort and all in keeping with the history of the house, beams, boards and all. An unusual blessing was the individual ensuites, but also much appreciated was the proliferation of books around the house and the extremely comfortable sitting/dining room just off the kitchen. I spent some of my time just sitting in the garden soaking up the sounds of the distant world among the baytrees, lupins and birdsong, feeling like I was in a vintage book of some sort. As I was in town for a funeral, I needed this peaceful place to retreat, but the fact that after walking out the door you not five minutes walk from the cathedral/high street just made everything so easy. And the final, most worthy part of the five stars go directly to our wonderful hosts - Jenny and Robin were wonderful; not just helpful and present, but personally welcoming. My thanks for creating such a place to stay and for being such warm and gracious hosts. (And for returning my forgotten belongings so speedily!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House

Address: 17 St. Marys Street, Ely CB7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional English bed & breakfast in historic house two minutes from Ely's medieval cathedral.One luxury suite and a twin en suite decorated with an eclectic mix of furnishings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cathedral House Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing