We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even entertain this establishment!”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ely
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't even entertain this establishment!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was going to book 2 rooms here for part of a business conference. The receptionist was possibly the rudest person I have ever dealt with. Absolutely dumbfounded when she slammed the phone down on me! Appalling!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    24
    25
    15
See reviews for
15
32
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Nice breakfast friendly staff the room was a little strange with the sink being in the bedroom but apart from that the room was lovely four post bed which was very comfortable will definitely stay here whenever I visit family from now on

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tracy1234567891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. This is one of our newly renovated rooms with a four poster bed and we thought we would leave the sink in the bedroom to keep the original charm of the old building.

Thank you again for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to The Castle next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Never again. The hotel and room had a very strange unpleasant smell. Clean it was not. I slept on top of the bedcovers as I could not bring myself to get in. Decor is awful and desperately in need of an upgrade. Lovely mustard coloured sink in the room! Did not bother going down for breakfast due to the gross smell. Cost 60 for one person with shared bathroom. Overpriced. Also they could not find my booking to start with on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emdejayhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are working to update all the rooms in the hotel to ensure they are in line with guest expectations. We do strive to keep all our rooms to a very high clean standard and we have implemented a policy to make sure all rooms are double checked by the manager before guests check in.

That rate is for the room and includes 2 people for bed and breakfast. We have also recently reduced this to £55 for the double room which includes bed and breakfast for 2 people which we feel is a very cost effective rate for someone visiting the area.

Our breakfast is all fresh and cooked to order and had you tried it I am sure you would have been pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We have also brought in a new cook who has revamped our breakfast in the last month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ely hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Not the most inspiring of places to stay. We went for a relaxing weekend away. At 9pm on the night of arrival, we were phoned to ask where we were because reception was closing - despite the fact that the booking email said they closed at 10pm.

The room itself was very pleasant, if a little cramped, and seemed to have been renovated quite recently. My only criticism here is that the walls were very thin. Fortunately our neighbours weren't too noisy though.

Our main complaint was the apathetic service we received. On the first morning we were asked if we needed anything in our room - new towels etc. We replied that we were ok on this front. Not thinking much of the conversation, we left the hotel and went out for the day. Upon arrival back that evening, we found the room hadn't been serviced at all. Not what you expect when paying for a hotel at this price.

Again at breakfast, the waiter seemed to have more important things on his mind, disappearing into the kitchen saying "come and find me if you need anything". Really attentive.

If you ignore the awful service, this place is a fairly pleasant hotel but nothing special. I'd expect better for the price though. If we came back to Ely, we'd definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know you were pleased with your room. We have recently renovated this room and we have also just had sound proofing installed in this room to reduce any noise between the two neighboring rooms.

As we are a small hotel we don't have a 24 hour reception we always like to call guests prior to arrival to ensure if they will be arriving after 10pm we can make arrangements for their check in. We do this as a service to guests to ensure all guests are checked in to their rooms.

I am very sorry that you felt our service levels were low and we have carried out thorough training of all staff to ensure they uphold excellent customer service at all times.

Again thank you for your feedback as it really helps us build our service and hotel experience to make sure we are exceeding guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were a group of 3 men in 3 rooms sharing a bathroom, which was what was described at the time of booking. The hotel was spotless, the food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal. Good english food. All staff made us feel very welcome, and looking forward to taking my wife for a further visit. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know you were really happy with your stay. I will pass this great feedback on to our staff as I know they will be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

So bad. Please never stay here. It has a bad smell outside the room which is the first thing that greets you. Our room. Too much wrong with it. Main points are the beds are so old and uncomfortable you cannot sleep. Walls are paper thin. View from window is a bin. TV does not work. Noise from radiator is so annoying and is constant. Other reviews giving good marks have to be fake. Trust this honest review and stay away. Nil points.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are sorry that you felt that way about your stay with us, even though when you checked-in we put you in an en-suite room free of charge when you had only booked a room with a shared bathroom. We were only made aware of your dissatisfaction after you checked-out and therefore we weren't given the opportunity to address your concerns at the time and move you to an alternative room.

As you know on receiving your email after your stay with us, we have refunded you the money that you paid for breakfast and 20% of the cost of your stay as a good will gesture which you acknowledged.

Again we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and had we known this at the time we would have taken every opportunity to ensure you had a good experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Where to begin? When we arrived the woman on reception, though friendly, didn't know what she was doing and even joked about the possibility of charging us twice. That's right, we were made to pay up front before our stay and even before viewing our room. There was a strong, unpleasant smell in the hotel of must mixed with bleach/cleaning products; ironic as our room was anything but clean. Spiderwebs with spider residents, hairs on the toilet seat and bath and quite an impressive amount of dust hanging from the lampshade. The room was lacking in any nice finishing touches, however my favourites were the big kitchen style bin in the corner and a bedside lamp that didn't work.
The double bed was comfortable and we slept well until 8am when workers began shouting to one another up and down the stairs and corridor (not great for our Sunday morning relaxation). Checkout was an early 10:00 so we made our way down to breakfast at 09:30. Breakfast was as to be expected, disappointing! We had an English breakfast which comprised of cheap produce slapped on a plate served up by sloppy looking staff in polo shirts and trainers with very little attention to care or customer satisfaction, so much so one lady was slamming doors on the dresser and throwing cutlery into heavily slammed drawers, again not the relaxing Sunday morning we had hoped for.
I have never left a review on Trip Adviser before but I really feel this stay deserved one, especially as the most recent review on here was in January 2012!
To sum up - overpaid and very underwhelmed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know the issues that you had while staying with us. We have had a complete overhaul in staff training, service levels and rooms cleaning since you stayed with us and we have done a lot of work to get our standards up to meet and exceed guest expectations.

The issues you raised regarding the noise from other guests unfortunately something that can happen in any hotel, however we have now implemented signs in the hotel so asks guests to be quiet between the hours of 10pm and 7am to try and reduce the risk of this happening.

Again thank you for your feedback, which we have taken on board and actioned to help in the continual improvement of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
183 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: 50 New Barns Road, Ely CB7 4PW, England (Formerly Castle Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located on the doorstep of Ely's historic town centre, just a few minutes walk. With 15 comfortable bedrooms, spread across three floors and a full English breakfast for guests to enjoy in the morning, what more could you want! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ely
The Castle Hotel Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing