We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Poets House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a fantastic lunch to celebrate a special birthday. The food was delicious and well presented. The restaurant was a peaceful place to spend the afternoon. The service was just right. I hope I have a chance to stay and eat there in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear DavidA57,
Thank you for your review and choosing us to celebrate your special birthday . Your feedback is much appreciated and I hope your special day was a good one.
We do hope you will get back to see us and get to enjoy the accommodation side of our business just as much.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    128
    53
    29
    7
See reviews for
72
348
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Ely with exceptional views of the Cathedral. There is valet parking so make sure you take everything from the car you need. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Our room was very comfortable with stylish decor, the main feature being a large copper roll top bath, the only problem it encourages you to spend too long in the bath. The restaurant has a varied menu and we enjoyed two very good dinners. There is a good wine list and a modern bar.
The hotel is ideally located for the Cathedral and riverside, the Tourist Office and Cromwell's museum is opposite. Although some of the rooms face a busy road, there is efficient double glazing and we did not find noise a problem.

Room Tip: Room 17 has excellent views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Trevor G,
Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am pleased to see that you managed to enjoy most of our services on offer and took advantage of our location to the Cathedral and Tourist Information.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I do hope you will be back to see us again soon,
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is faultless. Beautifully decorated, sophisticated, understated elegance. Staff really welcoming, friendly and efficient. Rooms the epitome of luxury. Fantastic location opposite the cathedral. Wonderful food!

Room Tip: All rooms large and beautifully appointed. Nice to get one facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear AnnemarieW
Thank you for your review and kind words of appreciation for our property and team, it is much appreciated and greatly received.
I do hope you will look us up if ever back in the area.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel in June to celebrate my wife's birthday. Could not have been better. We were greeted as we pulled up in front of reception. Our luggage was taken care of and the car valet parked. We were given a complementary drink in the bar as a welcome. The dinner was excellent. The butler service works well. We had a lovely room overlooking the church. All the staff are welcoming and obviously well trained. A minor problem with breakfast was sorted out quickly and professionally. We decided to look round the cathedral and Oliver Cromwell's house in the morning. When we returned to the hotel our car was waiting with our luggage neatly packed in the boot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear captainbe,
Thank you for your review of Poets House and indeed for choosing us as a venue to celebrate your wife’s birthday . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to get a look around our lovely city during your visit.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us ,
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The service at the Poets House is first class. The butlers care to your every need. They will even run a bath for you if you so wish. Nothing is too much trouble. The location is fantastic, 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral. Our room was fantastic, well equipped, beautiful freestanding copper bath and huge walk in shower.
Breakfast was excellent.
Al in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazzle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear dazzle9,
Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and indeed appreciated our service and offering.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I hope you will look us up when back in the area.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful building, room tastefully decorated, staff incredibly helpful. The only downside our room was up three flights of stairs and there's no lift, small price to pay for a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am delighted that you left having been pampered at that our team on site took good care of you. I am sorry to see that you struggled with the staircase and further that you were not allocated a room within the right hand side of the building where we do actually have a lift. My apologies for this and hopefully something we will remedy with room allocations should you come back and see us.
In the interim, thank you again for your great review and feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a Secret Escapes package deal at this lovely unique hotel. We were impressed with the location, right near to the beautiful cathedral. Touches of luxury everywhere, staff couldn't do enough for you, food was excellent, extravagant copper bath, power shower and huge bathroom all felt luxurious. The few things that let it down, and hence not giving it five stars, was everywhere was too hot. Windows don't open as it is on a busy road, but air conditioning is poor, and only goes to about 19degrees. Slow service at dinner and breakfast. In just over an hour we had only eaten a starter. The restaurant was not full, and we saw a few other tables with late service and we were all given apologies. Overall very impressed and would return and recommend. We would probably go back in the winter, when being hot would be cozy and a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear SA Robinson,
Thank you for your recent review and feedback for Poets House. I am sorry there were a few points that meant your experience with us was not as we would have liked and in immediate response I will offer assurances that our window closers were sadly implemented at ill advice of our contractor and we are planning to get this issue addressed and the slow service on your visit to The Dining Room, this was down to a shortfall on the evening within our kitchen brigade, again something which are working on with our new Head Chef.
Thank you for your kind words for our product and staff and we do hope you will be back to see us and see the amendments made.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.1 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
506 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,218 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#9 of 35 in Ely
181 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets House

Property: Poets House
Address: St Marys Street, Ely CB7 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ely’s historic city centre, Poets House commands superb views of the magnificent Cathedral, and having undergone a sensitive, design-led transformation is set to become one of the city’s premier Hotel, Restaurant and Event destinations.You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in The Dining Room, an elegant space where you’ll enjoy the perfect combination of a warm and friendly welcome, top-class service and traditional dishes served with a twist. Alternatively, The Study, overlooking the tranquil courtyard garden, is the perfect venue in which to enjoy an expertly-mixed cocktail, an informal platter, or an indulgent afternoon tea. If you want to stay over, each of our 21 guest-rooms consists of a spacious suite, in which period features and restful views blend seamlessly with the latest technology, elegant free-standing Copper baths and the last word in luxury beds. Whether you’re planning to stay, want to book a meal, or would just like to know more, we’re here to give you all the help you need and look forward to talking to you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Poets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets House Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing