We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning! Would quite happily have not left the room”
Review of Poets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Poets House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked his fairly last minute as needed a night in delightful Ely. From the moment we arrived it was obvious that this was something a little bit different and special.
Complimentary valet parking and a courteous host to show you to your room. We both stood there speechless when we entered our suite! A huge room with a copper bath at the end of the bed. Fast wifi and an IPad and Bose Soundock for use at no extra charge.
The shower (yes as well as a copper bath) was a waterfall experience and the lovely soft bathrobes another treat. A welcome glass of wine in the bar was a lovely touch as was the breakfast in bed. My eggs Benedict were lovely.
If this hotel were situated in any major city, the service and extra touches would stand it alone from others. Truly a 5* experience and I can't wait to rebook and return. Didn't try the restaurant as had other plans but it looked lovely

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Tara A,

Thank you for your recent review of Poets House and indeed for choosing us as your hotel of choice whilst in the area.

Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with all concerned. I do hope you will look us up if ever back in Ely..

Thank you again Tara,

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

There are many reasons to visit Ely; Poets House is one of them. From the moment we arrived and were promptly greeted and shown to our room by the host, until we collected our luggage after taking in the sights of the town the next day, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and could not do enough for us. Taxis to and from the station were organised efficiently and with no fuss. Our bags were carried up to our room (suite 14), which was on the second floor with a view of the Cathedral. The champagne my boyfriend had ordered was waiting on ice, along with a personally addressed welcome letter. The bedroom and bathroom were both huge. The room had a flat screen wall-mounted TV, sound system and iPad mini and was generously supplied with Hermes and Bulgari toiletries, more towels than we needed, fluffy white robes and slippers. Everything was spotless and our room was very quiet, despite the road below. After a soak in the copper roll top bath, we had dinner in the restaurant, where the service, food and wine were spot on. The bar had a lovely ambience and good choice of cocktails. The next morning we took breakfast in bed (no extra charge), which arrived on the dot of time with our pre-ordered newspaper. I can't rate Poets House highly enough and only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Claire O,

Thank you for your review and kind words for Poets House. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and that we met your expectations. A great deal of time and effort has gone into the property along with the continuous efforts from our hardworking team, so to receive reviews such as yours makes all of this very worthwhile.

Thank you again Claire for taking the time to review us and I do hope you will come back and see us soon.

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at poets house for 2 nights in august for our silver wedding anniversary. Beautiful hotel, stunning room and wonderful food, great view to of Ely cathedral and Oliver Cromwell's house. Front of house not so good! Very formal, polite but unsmiling and not a warm welcome. On our first night of dining, we had a card wishing us a happy 19th wedding anniversary. ( wrong day and wrong anniversary, it was our 25th silver wedding anniversary, which was told to reception on day of booking, shame as it went unnoticed on actual anniversary evening meal!) No tea coffee in room! Again unsmiling front of house when we departed!!! On the positive, lovely waiter on first night and great bar staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katehoney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Katehoney,

Thank you for your review of Poets House and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary with. I am only sorry for the confusion around your anniversary wishes and the overlooking of this on the night in question. We take pride in what we call our ‘surprise and delight’ culture which sadly lacked on your visit along with some consistency from the front of house team

I am pleased to read that this did not deter you too much and that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and see us if ever back in the area.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us,

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Poets House will furnish anyone with fond, relaxed and special memories that must surely endure. Should Ely serve residents and visitors alike with a touch of class within the reach of many, this location cannot be surpassed.

The cost may well frighten off an unknown number who would wish to utilise and savour such an experience, yet if that something special is what is sought in the City of Ely, your search stops at the Poets House!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Vince C,

Thank you for your review and kind words for Poets House. I am pleased that you had a good visit with us and hope you will return again soon.

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We visited as a couple looking for somewhere nice to have something to eat at 2pm on a Saturday in Ely. We walked in to be told that the restaurant was closed but that we could eat in the bar, which we decided to do. While the bar is very attractively decorated, the seating is soft and high, and with low tables it wasn't the most comfortable environment to sit and eat. We asked about the availability of afternoon tea but were told they needed 24 hours notice which seemed a bit strange (especially as it was very quiet.) We ordered a meze platter to start and then two mains. The food took a long time to arrive and when it did our mains were brought out first, followed by the platter. While this didn't merit a complaint at the time, we had clearly asked for the platter to start. The staff were polite and did apologise but weren't as attentive as they could have been. The drink prices were hugely inflated (£10 for a Bloody Mary) so we didn't opt for cocktails. The mains were very nice, crispy plaice especially good, although there was a small piece of plastic in of my fishcakes which was a little off putting. There was a distinct lack of atmosphere and nothing that blew me away about the place. It seemed as if you had to work quite hard to even get in to the restaurant/be served afternoon tea, but this may be a way of trying to make the place seem more exclusive.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kasia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Kasia L

Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am sorry that you were left underwhelmed by our offering and that we failed to meet your expectations. Appreciating that the team cannot and will not always get it right, if they are aware of a potential issue on the day they will do their utmost to make amends and as such we always encourage our guests to let us know. With that said I fully appreciate that not everyone is comfortable in doing so and thank you for letting us know via your review.

I am not sure if it was explained on the day that our policy for Afternoon Tea is publicised as a 24 hour booking window as all produce is freshly made to order and as such the preparation time is where this request comes from. The same is with The Dining Room, the kitchen will capably cater for a set number of people at any onetime and as a rule we and most other kitchens follow these guidelines as not to impede on service or quality which undoubtedly turns into a review of a different kind.

I hope this response goes someway into offering an explanation that you seem to have been lacking on the day and offers assurances that we seek quality not exclusivity.

Thank you again for your review,

Best regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is a bit unexpected in Ely - a modern, luxury hotel offering high class dining - and it's very welcome. I loved the ambiance - very cool and (mostly understated). The food is very good, but I sense that the chef is trying too hard to justify the price tag. Roast loan of pork is not a dish that needs to be deconstructed - it's fine as it is and , frankly, the Fire station across the road does a better job of it. I loved my breaded mackerel starter, however, and my wife was impressed with her halibut main dish. Service is a bit slow - 15 mins is too long to wait for a glass of wine. Expect c. £100 for 2

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Arthur P

Thank you for your review of Poets House and your feedback in relation to our menu offering. I am sorry that some of these elements were not to your liking and hope that this would not deter you from visiting us again. I am pleased to report that we are launching our new suite of menus and Head Chef at the beginning of October and I hope you will be back to give them a try.

In the interim thank you for taking the time to review us and for your comments.

Best wishes,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed recently for 1 night and like other recent reviews just simply can't fault the place at all. From the pre-call a few days before to check on any special requirements, through to the friendly and very smooth welcome and (free) valet parking service they are a standout example of how to operate a hotel. It did seem at times like they had thought of everything from free wifi, to lovely toiletries to a free drink (of our choice) to much needed air con (it was July !!).

We also ate in the restaurant and were very impressed with both the a la carte and fixed price menus as well as the service from the waiting on staff.

All in all this is an excellent hotel and even more so for the price we paid which is way less than similar hotels would charge just down the road in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank chipie73Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Chipie73liverpool,

Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and managed to enjoy the hotel and facilities. A great deal of thought has gone into the hotels and it is always rewarding when our guests appreciate them.

Thank you again for your kind words and I do hope you will look us up again if venturing this way.

Best wishes,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.2 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
537 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
384 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets House

Address: St Marys Street, Ely CB7 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £142 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ely’s historic city centre, Poets House commands superb views of the magnificent Cathedral, and having undergone a sensitive, design-led transformation is set to become one of the city’s premier Hotel, Restaurant and Event destinations.You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in The Dining Room, an elegant space where you’ll enjoy the perfect combination of a warm and friendly welcome, top-class service and traditional dishes served with a twist. Alternatively, The Study, overlooking the tranquil courtyard garden, is the perfect venue in which to enjoy an expertly-mixed cocktail, an informal platter, or an indulgent afternoon tea. If you want to stay over, each of our 21 guest-rooms consists of a spacious suite, in which period features and restful views blend seamlessly with the latest technology, elegant free-standing Copper baths and the last word in luxury beds. Whether you’re planning to stay, want to book a meal, or would just like to know more, we’re here to give you all the help you need and look forward to talking to you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets House Ely, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing