We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history”

Prickwillow Drainage Engine Museum
Ranked #10 of 30 things to do in Ely
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Not knowing the area of the fens very well, this museum brought to life the history and management of the fens.
The pumping station has an excellent collection of engines that are interesting even to non engineering - mechanically minded folk. They display the power and volumes of water that need to be moved in order to keep the area from flooding.
An excellent museum and resource.
No doubt even better on 'run' days. But good all the same.
The museum is run by enthusiastic volunteers and it is a tribute to them.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Islwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A remarkable selection of engines of all sizes, including models. Well laid out, plenty of information and keen volunteer staff. And I took the photo :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A view from the fens”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Manned by volunteers this is a must as you can see how the area was claimed and drained. See the engines, and their capcacity to keep the area in rich farmland for generations past and in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great day out!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I took my dad out for his birthday to this drainage museum. I have to say, I was not looking forward to it as it didn't look like it would interest me whatsoever. However, I absolutely loved it! We were greeted by a lovely lady called Joan who was very helpful and informative. I think her husband was one of the guys who set up the place.
It was very interesting and we plan to go again when they have the engines up & running.
Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahlouise1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“steam pumping engine”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Beautifully restored engine and building. A world class presentation in the middle of nowhere ! Snacks and toilets. For anyone interested in steam or the Fens history this is a must. Great location for picnic and boats but nothing else for miles !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prickwillow Drainage Engine Museum also viewed

 

Been to Prickwillow Drainage Engine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing