We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria's Food - CLOSED

Gloria's Food
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gloria's Food is a small family-run restaurant on the picturesque island of Alderney, tucked away in the Albert Mews off the main high street. Combining her award-winning dishes and over 20 years of culinary experience, Gloria has created a mouth-watering array of ever-changing tastes unique to the island. Whether you prefer tapas, soul food or some of her traditional signature dishes, there is something for everyone at Gloria's Food!Al Fresco Dining, Free Wifi, Cards Accepted, BYO Wine available
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

While we only had a snack at lunchtime the tapas were very tasty and most enjoyable eating in the small square. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    22
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An exceptional dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This venue never fails to impress with its varied menus of unusual and superbly prepared dishes. Goujons of cod, not the usual bread crumbed deep fried slivers of fish but good sized strips of cod lightly fried leaving succulent pieces of fish. Service as ever excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous food! recommend Jamaican curry Delicious! Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Need to book very popular. Can take your own wine great bonus. No frills good honest food love it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ate here on my last night on the island, visiting my Grandfather with my girlfriend. The food is as good as everyone says, I had the special, a fijian coconut dish with sea bass and clams and it was really enjoyable. Also have to commend the service, its basically this one guy, very helpful and seems to know the menu inside out - which is sweet when you are struggling to pick a dish. I doubt I'll be in Alderney again for a while, but I would return when I do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab food, value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A small restaurant, with excellent service and fabulous food. A very varied menu at a reasonable price. Good quality food, it you visit Alderney, book early to make sure you can eat here at least once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloria's Food also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing