We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”

The Georgian House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The menus are contemporary with a mix of traditional British pub and European with a seafood influence. We maintain a constant bar menu for those of you wanting something quick and easy. Our short and seasonal main menu will have a small selection of recurring favourites, but will see changes daily according to what is brought to our back door and what is at its seasonal best.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just wanted a light lunch and the soup was great. Homemade and the chef even talked us through how he cooked it with real passion. I like that in a restaurant

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alyson d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place came highly recommended as a place to eat but I can't agree. It has pleasant enough small bar which can get very busy - especially when so many other places are closed out of season. It has a nice formal dining room but on our first visit we were each very disappointed by the quality of food in the dining room and whilst the staff were pleasant enough errors and mistakes compounded to make this a very poor experience and I could not recommend dining there to anyone. Against our better judgement (everywhere else was closed) we had a fast lunch in the bar. This time the food was a bit better but then again half the menu was off. Maybe we were unlucky but we would not go back a third time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pgksussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A WINTER WARMER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Georgian is a real hub of Alderney. Immaculately & intelligently managed it's got a small but busy bar, an elegant restaurant and a great summer bar & garden. It's not cheap to eat there but the food is fab. We've just enjoyed a weekend break in Alderney and treated ourselves to a delicious meal there. Add the friendly welcome from the staff ... and we left with a warm mellow feeling of a lovely evening much enjoyed. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrianh794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

They said it was a steak night and it was. Nice warm cosy pub downstairs with some decent beer. Light and airy restaurant upstairs. Good food and good service. I wouldn't hurry back but equally I wouldn't cross the road to avoid it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food at resonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Service is 100% friendly and the food is excellent. We always give this restaurant at least two visits one for lunch and one for evening meal. Lovely outside garden and warmly inside too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JellyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Georgian House Restaurant also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Georgian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing