We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good went twice”

The Georgian House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$59
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The menus are contemporary with a mix of traditional British pub and European with a seafood influence. We maintain a constant bar menu for those of you wanting something quick and easy. Our short and seasonal main menu will have a small selection of recurring favourites, but will see changes daily according to what is brought to our back door and what is at its seasonal best.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So good went twice”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a typical 'country pub/hotel'. We did not stay but booked for Sunday lunch. Clearly popular with visitors and locals alike. And whether you are a regular or first timer the welcome is equally warm and attentive. When we booked the option to eat outside if its warm was 'automatically' offered.

And it was warm. We were shown to our table and accepted the offer of an umbrella which appeared as if from nowhere. A neighbouring table for 6 needed 2 which was difficult so sun hats were produced. Now that's service.

The menu and specials included some really creative - though not outlandish - dishes. We chose the soft shell crab with apple and fennel salad. Stunning. Followed by fresh made doughnuts with 3 dips and treacle, almond and ginger tart. All excellent and produced to order. No prepackaged stuff here.

The next day after a strenuous walk we needed a drink and a sit. We chose the comfortable bar. Clearly a place for locals to meet it had the feel of a club but one where if you weren't a member you were just as welcome.

The ham and pear chutney sandwiches were splendidly big and very fresh. Judging by what others had ordered the food here is consistently of a high standard.

Must remember to book earlier next time so we can enjoy an evening meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jawenold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    45
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely fresh fish, maybe slightly overpriced based on the portion size, but you are paying for the excellent service and atmosphere I guess! Well worth a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jgtwist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great dining”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked in a group of 10 and when we initially arrived where slightly concerned by the gathering of a Ukele group and a rather brusque person behind the bar (unusual for Alderney). The good news was the dining area was upstairs at the back in delightful bright and airy room. There, normal friendly service was restored and a great evening ensued. The food was good quality with many locally sourced products, the most exceptional was the pork chop - massive and with great crackling. The meals were served in good time and accompanied by a good selection of wines.

Recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptChaos179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great staff helps for a good night”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A family birthday meal was the order of the day and the fact that 11 of us turned up in dribs and drabs (we got a little bit lost on the way) along with a pram and young teenagers did not phase the cherry nature and good hearted banter of the staff. They are an absolute credit to The Georgian House. The food was a little more mixed, personally my (local) pork chop plus ham hock, cannelloni beans and chorizo was good. At a quick straw poll round the table seemed to indicate that the steaks were also 'up there', as were the burgers, whilst it was a little more mixed opinion about the fish. However the red wine was apparently "very good". Unfortunately baby stopped play for my girlfriend and me so I missed desert (I was looking forward to the salted caramel chic pot!). In summary I would say nothing fancy, but an honest meal with great friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swearindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab food & service”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a nice place. They looked after 11 of us in private room with hearty food served by great staff. Rarely have I been made more welcome and had such a nice evening. Mind you everybody we met on Alderney were friendly and very kind. Great night thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Georgian House Restaurant also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Georgian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing