We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other traveller has booked this property
Les Pourciaux House and Cottage, Alderney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Pourciaux House and Cottage, Alderney
Fort Raz, Alderney at sunset Saye Beach, Alderney
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Les Pourciaux House and Cottage, Alderney
Fort Raz, Alderney at sunset
Saye Beach, Alderney
Braye Bay, Alderney
Bluestone Beach, Alderney
The wall at Longis Beach, Alderney
Almost high tide on the causeway at Fort Raz with Fort Houmet Herbe in background
Longis Bay and Fort Raz, Alderney
Saye Beach from Fort Albert, Alderney
Boat on Longis Beach, Alderney
Inside Les Pourciaux Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alderney, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mollydanc...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Les Pourciaux cottage the second week of our three week stay on Alderney. Our grown up son came over to stay with us here.
We rang up last year to book this cottage and Gill was very helpful dealing with our booking.
As we were staying in a hotel the first week on Alderney and had to leave at 10.00 we were allowed to leave our luggage at the cottage so we could do what we wanted until we could go in. We loved the cottage as soon as we went in. It has a bedroom and shower room downstairs then up a spiral staircase to the first floor with living room, kitchen and further bedroom and bathroom. It feels really homely and has everything you need, including lots of books.
After we'd settled in we walked to the airport to meet our son and Nigel very kindly picked us up and took us back to Les Pourciaux. We had a great week there and it was very convenient for that end of the island. Nigel and Gill were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Homely feel of cottage and wonderful views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike other than having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you had a nice stay with us and also that you enjoyed the island. We look forward to seeing you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Warm, modern cottage in a fabulous location. Hosts were very kind and helpful. Alderney is a lovely island, despite still being rather battle-scarred from WW2, and Longis Common is certainly one of the nicest spots. All the restaurants we tried in St Anne were great with high quality food and friendly service. Local coastal walks were beautiful. It was quite a wrench to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Spiral staircase - because of my dodgy knee!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Hi Christine, glad to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our island! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAstb...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome, comfortable, great location”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Probably the best location on the island, owners offered to pick us up at the airport, arrange a pre-arrival food delivery. Cottage well put together and equipped and very warm when weather outside is not!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Support of owners and location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuchs
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday for young families and or couples wanting a romantic get away.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a fantastic week here with our two girls. The cottage is cosy, practical and finished to a high standard of comfort. Gill & Nigel are great hosts, not in your space but yet close by for a chat, advice or any help required. The location is stunning, Longis bay 1 min walk away and Corbletts all of a few minutes on the bike. We have been to Alderney many times and it is hard to find cottages to rent with everything you need. Well this little gem does it all and I highly recommend it. Summer or Winter, with the lovely wood burning stove, gorgeous views, lovely gardens to play in, it is a geat find and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style in which the cottage has been furnished - it is really cosy and lived in so I felt so at home and was vey comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Looking forward to seeing you again soon, fingers crossed for the weather for you for 27th June!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best locations on Alderney, nearby Saye and Corbletts beaches being as good. We have visited the island several times, so know it reasonably well and this house and position are both lovely. Gill and Nigel live next door, were helpful and friendly without being intrusive - Nigel was doing a lot of fishing when we were there which was very nice for us too as we had some of his catch!
Great area for walking, very quiet and peaceful, we loved it. The house itself is upside down to take advantage of the views but is very comfortable and nicely furnished, with everything you could need. It is certainly one we would return to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SybilHarr...
Northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped and maintained cottage in fantastic setting at Longis Bay. The owners, Gill and Nigel, are very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Alderney is a great island, we've never been there before and we loved it. We highly recommend this property for anyone who likes peace and tranquility and a wonderful sea view. Easy to get around the island on bikes or by walking and lots of interesting forts and Second World War bunkers and tunnels to explore. Good restaurants, beautiful deserted sandy beaches - who would want to go anywhere else!?

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing