We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning hotel on a magic island”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning hotel on a magic island”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I visited Alderney for work this week and hadn't been to this hotel. The location of he hotel is just stunning it's on this amazing beach and I had a fabulous sea view room. The hotel staff were just brilliant so friendly and helpful. I ate dinner in the restaurant and it was just fabulous, fresh ingredients and fabulous flavours and the table next to me enjoyed a wonderful feast of oysters, crabs, lobster and it looked magnificent. The hotel is perfectly placed and you can walk to the port, town or around the island. Beds and room are spacious, comfy pillows and beds with lovely bed linen and decor of rooms with everything you need and the small little touches in the rooms make such a difference which include apples and even a decanter of sherry! I was only there for a day and LivingIsland gave me a guided tour around the island which was just truly amazing. Alderney is a totally magically island and I can't wait to go back again to explore further.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if they have so worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mars w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Mars it was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward to your return, we love guests like you.
Cheers
Richarcd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    56
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
108
363
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our second visit to Alderney - and there was no question, it had to be The Braye Beach Hotel. OK its the other side from the aerodrome and a decent uphill walk into the town St Anne. But sitting close by the pretty harbour and on top of the beach - for location it takes some beating. There are no buses on the island but prompt, friendly and efficient taxis for those essential trips to and from the airport.

But if you are going to Alderney you'll probably want to walk. The tourist information office/site have well manageable walks, some with steep parts but this oldie coped with them. Take it gently - which seems to be the ethos of Alderney.

Previously we stayed for just one full day (2 nights) and traveled from Guernsey. We so enjoyed it that this time we flew direct from Southampton, stayed 3 nights so had effectively 4 wonderful days.

Braye Beach Hotel is just as good as last time. The staff are friendly especially the 'patron' Richard and chief receptionist Marie for whom nothing was too much trouble. Indeed the ethos is you are here to relax and enjoy our hotel and island - we'll see that happens.

The hotel is well provided for with 3 terraces where you can sit, relax, take your time - even paint; a bar and small seating area inside if its windy and two lounges downstairs - oh and a private cinema although we did not need that.

The restaurant has stunning views over the bay to the headland beyond. Matched by the food.

And by the way try their Braye Beer Battered Fish & Chips.

Thanks all - we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jawenold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, so pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel, it is such fun having
repeat guests back to stay, as part of the Braye Beach Family.
See you soon
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We responded to a mail shot. I know - risky! However the holiday we had last week at the Braye Beach Hotel met all our expectations. Brilliant location, very well managed, great food & friendly staff. Richard Proctor (GM) seems to always be on duty & makes sure everything runs smoothly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our few days in Alderney. It was last week (13th -17th May) so we benefited from lovely sunny weather. Recommendations - ensure you have Sea view room. Make sure you have room for cooked breakfast. If hiring a Bike from Auto Motiv (nearby) spend the money on an Electric Bike - worth every penny! (Although don't expect Mike to crack too many jokes). The Island is lovely - quiet, with beautiful beaches (one of the best at the Hotel). Also very friendly people. Include a boat trip to see Birds - worth every penny. Very knowledgeable and helpful guides - what they don't know about Puffins and Gannets is not worth knowing. A very positive experience - highly recommended.

Room Tip: A sea view room is essential - the clue is in the name of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Steve,
thank you for your review, great to know our mailshots work, delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Thanks again
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a perfect first trip to Alderney. Braye Beach Hotel is stunningly located right on beautiful Braye Beach. Richard and his staff at Braye Beach Hotel are very professional and friendly, treating each guest as though they are the only and most special guest. Nothing is too much trouble and they went beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcomed and at home. Very comfortable bedroom with view of beach and bay. The sherry, bottled water and fresh milk are a nice touch in the room.

Alderney is a perfect place to unwind and get away from stress. It's quiet and peaceful, with lots of sea and land birds to see and hear. If you want to look around the island, hire a bike (an electric one if you're lazy on hills!) from Auto-Motion, a 3-minute walk from the hotel. You can get right round the island in 5 hours with plenty of stops for paddling in the sea, and lunch at The Old Barn.

Room Tip: The sea view is perfect; if you have a non-sea view room you'll overlook the road and the old tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SooeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear SooeyC,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Braye Beach Hotel and Alderney experience.

Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay at the hotel for 4 night whilst attending a family wedding on this wonderful island. What can I add that has not been said before, picture perfect location and an excellent quality of food, what I would like to add is the standard of service we received during our stay, from the moment we checked in till the moment we left the service was second to none.
We were a good twenty minutes late for breakfast on the Sunday morning and had all but gave up hope of feasting on the top class spread, however when we got down stairs the fact we were late was just shrugged off by the manager Richard and we were shown to our seats without even a raised eyebrow and had plates of hot food brought to us without delay, this is just one of many instances where the manager and staff go above and beyond at this hotel, nothing is too much trouble for them and we can’t praise them highly enough.
We have stayed in all types of accommodation over the years but never encountered a level of service in a hotel like we received here, well done to all the fantastic staff and one of the most friendly and nicest managers I have ever come across. Richard I doth my cap to you should take great pride in all you have accomplished here, see you next year!

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view...you will see why when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigsby420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a wonderful review thank you, we have just received an award for exceptional service from
Trip Advisor Reviewers, placing us in the top 25 of all the hotels in the U.K.
We, as a team are delighted and will strive to make everyones stay a special occasion.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend away at Alderney's Braye Beach Hotel and really, we cannot wax lyrical enough about our experience there.

Firstly, our street view room was small but exceptionally comfortable with tasteful decor. I had the most comfortable and peaceful nights sleeps (and an extended lie in) I've had in years.

The breakfast was lovely. We opted for the Full Alderney every day as the ingredients were so high in quality and delicious! I wish I could find sausages like that on the mainland! Other choices were available, however, if something else was required eg salmon, kippers and of course the buffet style continental selection. Alderney dairy is just beautiful..so I couldn't get enough of the locally produced yoghurt and the sunshine yellow, creamy butter slathered onto the gorgeous local bread.

We were there for a family wedding which was being held at the Braye on the Saturday of our weekend away. This consisted of a Fruit de Mer buffet. It was fantastic! The freshest I've ever tasted.

Which brings me to the staff. Professional and helpful. Can't fault them one little bit. The manager, who is a lovely guy, accommodated us with a late breakfast sitting after too much celebrating from the previous evening. Nothing was too much hassle.


It's such a lovely and laid back place to stay with the most beautiful view of Braye beach bay and Fort Albert. The seas are turquoise and the sand is white and powdery. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would fork out for a sea view room....it really is a spectacular vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for saying such lovely things about our hotel, the team are thrilled that the weekend, was such a success, see you soon
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We used the Braye Beach Hotel for my Daughter's wedding last weekend. It could not have gone any better. We had a seafood buffet to die for and all our 80 guest were very impressed. The feedback we have had has been outstanding. The grooms family traveled from Jersey and their feedback has been of utter delight.
Richard and his team gave exceptional and outstanding service from the bar service to the waiting staff and the guys serving on the buffet.
As an ex Chef I know how much work and planning goes into getting things right and this team did this with fantastic enthusiasm.
From the bottom of my heart Thank You all very much indeed.
Anyone planning a wedding in the future will not be disappointed with this venue, service,attention to detail and friendliness of everyone involved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we loved catering to your Daughter's Wedding.
Kind regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#1 of 1 in Flamanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
19.9 mi away
Le Landemer
Le Landemer
#1 of 1 in Urville-Nacqueville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Property: Braye Beach Hotel
Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing