We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for our wedding celebrations.”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Although we actually got married in Jersey, we decided to have a blessing and celebration in Alderney with family and friends. The Braye Beach was an obvious choice, having attended a previous family wedding reception there a couple of years before.

Richard and the reservation staff were great with our correspondence, which was mostly by email and phone in leading up to the trip. Nothing was too much trouble. We were delayed by a day due to the fog, and so had a bit of running around last minute when we arrived in Alderney. Again, this was not a problem, and we were given so much flexibility with plans i.e. table decorations and music etc.

We were allocated a sea room view which was absolutely stunning. We were looked after from start to finish, with the staff even making sure our cards and presents etc were taken safely to the room throughout the day. We enjoyed opening them the following morning over breakfast in bed and a view of Braye Beach.

The Fruit de Mer buffet was top notch! I had been promising our Jersey family who travelled up with us how good it would be, and it definitely did not disappoint! There was so much food, and it was beautifully presented. Every single person we spoke to that evening told us how impressed they were, with not only the food, but the service too.

In summary, the staff at the Braye Beach contributed to what was a very special day with family and friends - nothing was too much trouble, and we were treated like VIPs! It was important to us to celebrate with Alderney family and friends, and this the perfect way to make it happen.

Thank you very much.
Aaron and Rebecca.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron_Gavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aaron and Rebecca,
It was a pleasure to cater to your big day, we love doing seafood platters and buffets, always great to showcase the very best of Alderney Seafood.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, this is very good for everyone else want a wedding at Braye Beach Hotel.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely break over the late May bank holiday weekend at the Braye Beach Hotel. The hotel as always was wonderful. Fabulous entertainment all over Alderney with the many acts put on at various venues for the Performing Arts festival. Highlight was a supper at the Braye Beach with the fabulous Bowjangles providing a wonderful musical evening, not forgetting wine served on the train with the French rock group providing entertainment.

Thanks as always to Richard, Maria and the team for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JsyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Jean
Always a pleasure to see you both at Braye Beach, so pleased you came on the festival Weekend, thanks for your lovely comments, see you soon,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Braye Beach. The hotel was recommended by my friend. My husband and I booked the Platinum Plus room. The room was lovely really clean with plenty of towels and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely walk out balcony overlooking the port and a side view of the bay and beach. The room had tea, coffee, biscuits and water supplied. The added bonus was having a fridge. I cannot fault the staff everybody was extremely helpful and very friendly. The only downside in our opinion was the standard of food. There could be some improvement. The portion sizes were a bit small ( not much veg ) If you wanted extra you could pay. Also the food could have been hotter. We did not fare much better with breakfast our second morning the bacon was inedible. Its such a shame about the food as the service was excellent. Even though the food could have been better I would still recommend the hotel and my husband and I would stay there again should we visit the island in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am really sorry, sometimes we find it very difficult to please some people, rare but it does happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our second visit to the Braye Beach Hotel, and we can honestly say that it is one of the most pleasant places we have stayed at. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, particularly Richard, the Hotel Manager. Rooms are clean, well-appointed and the beds are very comfortable - we both slept wonderfully. The showers are also well worth a mention - they are brilliantly powerful, unlike some other hotels.
Located right on the beach at Braye, the views from sea-facing rooms are stunning, and it is only a 15 minute walk into town, albeit uphill.
Meals are of a very high quality and while priced accordingly by Alderney standards, are well worth the money. Similar food of the same quality on the mainland would cost much more! Kitchen staff were very accommodating of specialist dietary requirements.
When we visited previously in March of this year, we ordered food at the attached pub (The Divers) next door and the kitchen staff recognised that it was our order and called through to confirm whether we wanted gluten free bread, which we had forgotten to specify.
We will definitely visit again and I cannot recommend this hotel enough for it's location, meals and hospitality. The hotel well deserved its #6 in the UK rating - Richard and his team have definitely earned it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room at the end away from The Divers for the most quiet. Despite what some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubba_number1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Bubba,
thanks for your great review, it was so kind that you took so much trouble and was warmly appreciated by all the team working here, especially me.
We look forward to your return.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and would highly recommend it. Lovely hotel with really attractive rooms - especially if you have the stunning sea view. We had dinner on three evenings; very good food that was reasonably priced in a two or three course menu. Really helpful staff but the star is Richard the General Manager who is a great host. Always welcoming, he made sure that we had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Pam S,
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure to have you to stay with us and we would love you you to return.
Thanks again,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I visited Alderney for work this week and hadn't been to this hotel. The location of he hotel is just stunning it's on this amazing beach and I had a fabulous sea view room. The hotel staff were just brilliant so friendly and helpful. I ate dinner in the restaurant and it was just fabulous, fresh ingredients and fabulous flavours and the table next to me enjoyed a wonderful feast of oysters, crabs, lobster and it looked magnificent. The hotel is perfectly placed and you can walk to the port, town or around the island. Beds and room are spacious, comfy pillows and beds with lovely bed linen and decor of rooms with everything you need and the small little touches in the rooms make such a difference which include apples and even a decanter of sherry! I was only there for a day and LivingIsland gave me a guided tour around the island which was just truly amazing. Alderney is a totally magically island and I can't wait to go back again to explore further.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if they have so worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mars w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Mars it was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward to your return, we love guests like you.
Cheers
Richarcd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our second visit to Alderney - and there was no question, it had to be The Braye Beach Hotel. OK its the other side from the aerodrome and a decent uphill walk into the town St Anne. But sitting close by the pretty harbour and on top of the beach - for location it takes some beating. There are no buses on the island but prompt, friendly and efficient taxis for those essential trips to and from the airport.

But if you are going to Alderney you'll probably want to walk. The tourist information office/site have well manageable walks, some with steep parts but this oldie coped with them. Take it gently - which seems to be the ethos of Alderney.

Previously we stayed for just one full day (2 nights) and traveled from Guernsey. We so enjoyed it that this time we flew direct from Southampton, stayed 3 nights so had effectively 4 wonderful days.

Braye Beach Hotel is just as good as last time. The staff are friendly especially the 'patron' Richard and chief receptionist Marie for whom nothing was too much trouble. Indeed the ethos is you are here to relax and enjoy our hotel and island - we'll see that happens.

The hotel is well provided for with 3 terraces where you can sit, relax, take your time - even paint; a bar and small seating area inside if its windy and two lounges downstairs - oh and a private cinema although we did not need that.

The restaurant has stunning views over the bay to the headland beyond. Matched by the food.

And by the way try their Braye Beer Battered Fish & Chips.

Thanks all - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jawenold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, so pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel, it is such fun having
repeat guests back to stay, as part of the Braye Beach Family.
See you soon
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
64 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Landemer
Le Landemer
#1 of 1 in Urville-Nacqueville
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: £99 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing