We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in Paradise”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have visited Alderney many times, and, for anyone who loves the sea, and the scenery, and a lot of wildlife and history, without expecting too much artificial entertainment, it is idyllic. And the Braye Beach is the perfect Hotel: situated beside the white sands of the Beach, it is elegantly decorated in seaside colours, with nice, though not huge, bedrooms, very comfortable beds, and good bathrooms. Breakfasts, bar lunches, and dinners are all of excellent quality. The young staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. And Mr. Proctor, the brilliant manager, makes everything run seamlessly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jane,
thank you for your brilliant review, please come back soon
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Braye Beach Hotel is wonderful for location and accommodation. We have travelled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels but our room could not be bettered.as regards comfort and space. To awake to the gentle lapping of the waves in Braye Bay is memorable. Alderney is a place of peace and tranquility for particularly the older generation.The General Manager, Richard Proctor is all things to all men in a very positive way. Without him the hotel would have problems.
Unfortunately, some aspects of the service were disappointing. The majority of the staff are young and foreign. They learn on the job which can cause problems. The check out was particularly chaotic with our bill requiring a number of amendments and no one seeming to know whose taxi was whose. The food whilst well presented lacked variety. The breakfasts were very good but the evening menu was virtually the same each night. This means the hotel is losing custom to the excellent restaurant opposite.
The Braye Beach Hotel and Alderney will be remembered with much affection

Room Tip: Room 32 is fantastic. Platinum plus designation with sea view on third floor. Excellent facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Christine,
thanks for your review, I am very sorry you encountered problems and will address them, the restaurant, very popular with an extensive menu, which because we prepare everything to order and use only fresh produce, can be limiting on how often it is changed, we serve between 800 to a 1000 meals per week which stretches our storage capacity, with an Island that relies on 2 boat deliveries per week. Also we are delighted to source a special for someone, subject to availability.
I hope we will see you again.
Thanks Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Quiet, friendly service, made to feel like a special guest, Richard, the manager, does all that is needed, remembers names, flirts a little, makes all guests, male or female feel welcome. All staff provide a brilliant, unobtrusive service. Food was lovely and a little indulgent, I had a sea view room, just abut everything you need supplied, super range of teas/coffees etc, FRESH milk in the frig each day, wonderful range of 'smellies' in the bathroom, AND the mirror didn't steam up when showering! Got to choose the film one evening in the private cinema. Will definitely be back next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank canonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Canonjones,
What a lovely review, you have mentioned so of our most popular attributes in the rooms, so I am very pleased.
Hope to see you soon.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Gorgeous little gem of an island with flower-strewn headlands and little sandy beaches. Braye Beach is a perfect location from which to explore as almost the last hotel standing, after the closure of several competitors post recession.There's a very good B & B in the town (St Anne's) called the Victoria, but the Braye Beach has been extensively and tastefully refurbished and offers the perfect location location location, with beautiful rooms, attentive staff, fresh seafood and an unparalleled vista. The hotel restaurant very good indeed, with food much better than the dull descriptions on the menu, so clearly a talented and deft touch in the kitchen. Scallops were amazing, as was seared salmon, puddings less so. The bar menu was also very good, with wonderful tempura prawns and frites, crab sandwiches and a crab salad to due for, complete with amazing claws sensibly pre-cracked but giving just the right amount of fun extracting the gorgeous meat. Could have done with finger bowls. Summer staff are pretty good, some just learning and some language issues with the eastern Europeans, but always with a smile and very willing, with Richard the manager omni-present to smooth away any minor wrinkles. Get a room with a view and pay the extra for one with a little tiny balcony from which to view the harbour. Bathroom, water pressure, extras in room thoughtfully done. Not cheap, but there are packages. Will be back

Room Tip: Get a room at the front on the top floor with an eaves balcony. Choose the crab salad on the bar ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Marianne,
Thank you for your charming review, I look forward to your return
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our very first trip to any of the Channel Islands and as a taster we could not have picked a better place to start our island experience. The room, we had, overlooked the beautiful bay and the weather was such that we woke to the best sun rises ever. The room was very comfortable and we were greeted with tea and coffee facilities and fresh fruit. Sherry in a decanter just added that little touch. The staff were all extremely helpful, with a special mention for Richard who made each meal an adventure. He was never lost for a cheery word and he really added to the atmosphere. The cuisine was excellent, well presented and promptly served by the youthful, willing staff. We will definitely visit the other islands but fear we will find it hard to beat the experience we had here.

Room Tip: Our room, 34, overlooking the bay, was excellent having the sunrise each morning and just the lappin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Terry,
A personal thank you for all the fantastic comments you made about Braye Beach Hotel and the Team,
Come back soon.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Friendly, helpful staff who go out of their way to make things possible. Manager is always around and watching over things especially at the tables. Dinner and breakfast always first rate. Rooms clean, tidy and with great view over bay if you choose that side. V happy with everything during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Dicampo,
What a lovely review, thank you, come back soon
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first visit to Braye Beach Hotel and the beautiful island of Alderney. From the moment we left Southampton airport we knew it was going to be a very special holiday. The Aurigny flight and the courteous staff set the scene. The hotel was even better than we expected from the adverts and website. Our Platinum Plus room was spacious and beautiful - a tasteful seaside theme in the style of `The White Company` & `Laura Ashley`...just my style! We had all round views of the harbour and the beautiful sandy beach from the triple aspect windows. From the hospitality sherry decanter to the robes and slippers, nothing was forgotten. The staff were courteous and friendly. Richard, the Manager was very welcoming and made a point of making his guests feel at home. The cuisine was consistently superb.
The island, too, is beautiful. Wonderful scenery, numerous coastal and island walks...we hired bikes one day and took a Wildlife Trust boat trip to see the puffins, gannet colony and much more. The sun shone out of a beautiful blue sky every day. What more can I say except we'll be back! Thank you for a fabulous holiday....I can't stop talking about it!

Room Tip: The platinum plus rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear SMN

Thank you for your charming review, makes us all feel really good, come back and visit soon.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
64 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
707 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: £99 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing