We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved our room with sea view on the 3rd floor. It had a Juliet balcony so we could really appreciate the views. The room was very spacious with super comfy beds and the bathroom was huge. We enjoyed evenings sitting outside having a drink after all the walking we did each day. Alderney is perfect for a peaceful break and we made the most of all the walks we could do.

Room Tip: Seaview definitely the best and probably 3rd floor in case there is any noise from evening revellers...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Sue,
thanks for your wonderful review, please come back soon.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Braye Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want location, location, location this is it. Don't expect non stop entertainment or a busy night life but for a get away from it all break the location on the wonderful beach is hard to beat. Good food and very obliging staff make for an excellent combination and if the sun shines, you'd rather be here than any exotic spot.

Room Tip: The rooms are all a bit small as its a historic building so definitely request biggest available. De...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Noel,
Thanks for taking the trouble to review the hotel, it is appreciate.
See you soon I hope.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Everything was fine apart from two things. If you fancy going to bed early and have a sea facing room further along the hotel then you can listen to the swearing and noise of the smokers on the balcony at the next door pub. If this is your bag then this carries on till around 11:30 when you can then listen to the waves on the beach.
We also came down for something to eat to be told that as it was 9pm the only place to get something to eat was the Chinese up the hill on the High Street. Off we trudged up a not exactly flat hill to find the Chinese was closed, so we had to make do with a bar of chocolate, two mandarin's and two packets of room biscuits.
It would have been nice if the offered to make us a sandwich but they did not. All Richard the Manager said was that everywhere was closed because of the football.
Apart from these two problems everything else was fine and we had a great time in Alderney and at the hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peugeotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Peugeotman,
thanks for your review, during our discussion, you agreed that you had been asked by our reception whether you would been dining and you didn't wish to commit to a booking,both the Mai Tai and the Indian restaurant were open, on this night, I checked with them. but otherwise yes the football took over,
Brazil lost 7 -1 to Germany.
I hope we may see you at a future date as I loved yopur joke.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location for a short break. Very peaceful and relaxing place. Lovely hotel on the beach, close to town although a steep bank to climb if walking. Very high standard in hotel, friendly staff and good food. Sara who helped us with our booking was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Manager, Richard, very hands on a welcoming ensuring we had a great stay. As a bonus we enjoyed lovely weather.

Room Tip: The seaview room is well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Traveller 1035,
It was a pleasure to have you to stay, please come come back soon.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just enjoyed the best EVER fruits de Mer at Braye Beach Hotel. We'll done to Richard Proctor who is the Manager and his staff. The food was excellent, the service was first class and the venue is stunning. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask reception....they are honest and will give you great advice to suit your pocket.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caffreydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Caffreydog,
what a wonderful review,
thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Braye Beach hotel. We have visited before and were again delighted by our stay. I was travelling with my two children who love the cinema and the close proximity to the beautiful beach. The hotel is well run and most of the staff very helpful and friendly. The manager makes every effort to chat to people and seemed relaxed yet vigilant to the needs of the guests. My only criticism would be the the food. My daughter who has allergies to dairy and egg products was served one slice of bacon, a quarter mushroom and half a tomato. I felt that the chef could have doubled up on some of the things she could eat as we had made it known to the staff. The dinner on our last evening was much better and the chef made a much better effort at finding her alternatives to meet her diet.
Our room had a lovely view of the beach and was very clean. The complimentary fruit and sherry are a nice touch and adds to the experience.

Room Tip: A view of the beach is a lovely way to wake up with the early morning sun.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Wendy,
thank you for your review, sorry it is not the chef's fault we should have doubled up on the order, when taking the order in restaurant, so apologies.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have visited Alderney many times, and, for anyone who loves the sea, and the scenery, and a lot of wildlife and history, without expecting too much artificial entertainment, it is idyllic. And the Braye Beach is the perfect Hotel: situated beside the white sands of the Beach, it is elegantly decorated in seaside colours, with nice, though not huge, bedrooms, very comfortable beds, and good bathrooms. Breakfasts, bar lunches, and dinners are all of excellent quality. The young staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. And Mr. Proctor, the brilliant manager, makes everything run seamlessly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jane,
thank you for your brilliant review, please come back soon
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
62 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
696 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#1 of 1 in Flamanville
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: £98 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing