We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor against expectations created by the effusive marketing”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If the marketing hadn't positioned this hotel as the 6th best hotel in the uk, and charged the prices it does, we might have rated it a bit more highly. I am giving it only 2 stars to balance out the ridiculously high ratings it seems to get from people who have clearly never stayed in a good hotel before!
On the plus side( to be fair) it has a fabulous location and views. The top level rooms are ok- everything works, the showers are powerful, there is just enough room for a sitting area... However, they are not large by any means. I would not have been happy in a smaller room or one without the view. Also, some of the food was good ( great homemade soup and crab linguine at lunchtime) It is also next to the harbour, so handy for boat trips and yacht admiration..
However, on the downside:
- Inefficient and sometimes diffident staff, not at all friendly; their English was often not good and they were clearly seasonal labour from abroad, rather than locals) The exception was the thin barman, who was efficient and good.
- We only saw the manager once, very briefly at breakfast, and we were not once asked if we were enjoying our stay.
- Extremely small food portions at dinner(eg 4 rings of battered squid on top of a small salad, which was completely tasteless, despite being called peppered squid)
- Very poor breakfast food selection: no homemade muesli, only packets of high sugar cereals ( apart from Weetabix), and hardly any fresh fruit ( I had to plead for anything other than melon, despite it being the season for strawberries, raspberries , peaches and loads of other fruit.... these were all available in the food shops, so no excuse!) This wasn't what I had expected , given the hotel's link ( ownership?) by the person who owns Healthspan vitamins... Perhaps it explains why he thinks we need vitamins to supplement our diets!
- very limited meal times... Breakfast only until 9.45 ( after which the staff start clearing up around you) ; lunch only until 2 pm, despite having a good outside terrace with lovely views
- no loungers to sit out on, or deckchairs to take to the beach, so if you want to relax outside, there are only the restaurant chairs, or a towel on the beach.
- surprisingly little in the way of suggestions of what to do during our stay, on an island where it is actually quite difficult to arrange tours ! The tourist office is still operating in the 60s manner of having to go in and pay in advance in cash for a tour which might or might not go ahead. That entails having to walk 15 mins up the steep hill to the town , or get a £5 taxi to the town. A good hotel would find some way round that!
I hasten to add that despite all of this, we loved the island and hope to come back- we just wouldn't stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor sea view, platinum plus room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,
I responded to "Don't believe the hype" first and have the same reply for you.
we were very clearly not the sort of hotel you were expecting, for that I apologise, however in our defence we enjoy running this hotel and nothing has changed prior to your stay and indeed nothing will
change now you have gone. I as General Manager have a lovely team, my previous reviewers have all
enjoyed staying here and given honest opinions,I will leave it there for fear of sound defensive.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Braye Beach Hotel for a second time, at the beginning of July. We were recognised by the Manager who was warm and friendly, along with other members of Staff who have obviously been trained very well.
We ate at the Braye Beach on our first night and the food was brilliant.
Our room was clean and quiet despite facing the road.
The only reason this review does not get 5 stars is because there was a Wedding in the Hotel on the Saturday night of our stay and we weren't able to use the bar/public areas. I feel we should have been warned about this when we booked. It is not a cheap hotel and one would expect to use all of the facilities.
Looking forward to our stay during the next Fly in!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TillymintG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Tillymint,
It was lovely to see you again, sorry if you felt excluded by the wedding, we were busy, but you would be most welcome to have used any of the facilities, including the bar.
Thanks Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved our room with sea view on the 3rd floor. It had a Juliet balcony so we could really appreciate the views. The room was very spacious with super comfy beds and the bathroom was huge. We enjoyed evenings sitting outside having a drink after all the walking we did each day. Alderney is perfect for a peaceful break and we made the most of all the walks we could do.

Room Tip: Seaview definitely the best and probably 3rd floor in case there is any noise from evening revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Sue,
thanks for your wonderful review, please come back soon.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want location, location, location this is it. Don't expect non stop entertainment or a busy night life but for a get away from it all break the location on the wonderful beach is hard to beat. Good food and very obliging staff make for an excellent combination and if the sun shines, you'd rather be here than any exotic spot.

Room Tip: The rooms are all a bit small as its a historic building so definitely request biggest available. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Noel,
Thanks for taking the trouble to review the hotel, it is appreciate.
See you soon I hope.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Everything was fine apart from two things. If you fancy going to bed early and have a sea facing room further along the hotel then you can listen to the swearing and noise of the smokers on the balcony at the next door pub. If this is your bag then this carries on till around 11:30 when you can then listen to the waves on the beach.
We also came down for something to eat to be told that as it was 9pm the only place to get something to eat was the Chinese up the hill on the High Street. Off we trudged up a not exactly flat hill to find the Chinese was closed, so we had to make do with a bar of chocolate, two mandarin's and two packets of room biscuits.
It would have been nice if the offered to make us a sandwich but they did not. All Richard the Manager said was that everywhere was closed because of the football.
Apart from these two problems everything else was fine and we had a great time in Alderney and at the hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peugeotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Peugeotman,
thanks for your review, during our discussion, you agreed that you had been asked by our reception whether you would been dining and you didn't wish to commit to a booking,both the Mai Tai and the Indian restaurant were open, on this night, I checked with them. but otherwise yes the football took over,
Brazil lost 7 -1 to Germany.
I hope we may see you at a future date as I loved yopur joke.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location for a short break. Very peaceful and relaxing place. Lovely hotel on the beach, close to town although a steep bank to climb if walking. Very high standard in hotel, friendly staff and good food. Sara who helped us with our booking was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Manager, Richard, very hands on a welcoming ensuring we had a great stay. As a bonus we enjoyed lovely weather.

Room Tip: The seaview room is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Traveller 1035,
It was a pleasure to have you to stay, please come come back soon.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just enjoyed the best EVER fruits de Mer at Braye Beach Hotel. We'll done to Richard Proctor who is the Manager and his staff. The food was excellent, the service was first class and the venue is stunning. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask reception....they are honest and will give you great advice to suit your pocket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caffreydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Caffreydog,
what a wonderful review,
thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
24.9 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
23.9 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: £96 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing