We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice.”
Review of L'Escalier - CLOSED

L'Escalier
Price range: US$0 - US$184
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Haslingden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I we had a very nice well cooked and presented meal here, seved by very nice people, and will certainly visit again when we re visit Guernsey.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hazzybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We visited L'Escalier, as it looks so cosy and from the outside the ambiance looks great. However, after an hour wait for our first course it didn't matter what the ambiance was like. We both scored our starter 5/6 out of 10. An hour and a half after arrival - my main course was a vegetarian moussaka, if you like eating baby food this would be ideal, it was mush. My husband had pork served on a chopping board! All very brown and non-descript. 5/10 maximum. We didn't bother with desert. It's a great shame because there are some fabulous restaurants in Guernesey - this is not one.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfaRomeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

A dozen colleagues went for a private meal at L'Escalier last Monday.

It really was quite exquisite and delicious.

It was a set meal. The canapes were stunning especially the mini omellettes. Lobster was delicious and the "OXO" cube main extraordinary.

The chef really is a magician.

Super service, great atmosphere and sublime food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great meal during tenner fest”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We ate here during the tenner fest festival and paid £17 ish for 4 courses, however the portions were small, something you would expect from a michelin style london restaurant, not a restaurant in st peter port, maybe they have ideas beyond their station, however the food was excellent. my only complaint was the wine was too expensive. I would say however, maybe if it wasnt the tenner fest the food would be disappointing for the money

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank guildfordlad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bistro for creative dining”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Tennerfest menue tempted us to choose this restaurant in the old quarter of town. Our taste buds were delighted at the fine nuances of flavours, be it seafood or a vegetarian dish.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MayaSpecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escalier also viewed

 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing