We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeking this carvery out.”
Review of The Falcon Carvery - CLOSED

The Falcon Carvery
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Falcon Carvery Restaurant at Le Friquet HotelOne of the most popular restaurants in Guernsey. The restaurant offers a wide choice of menus to suit most tastes:The popular Falcon CarveryOur fixed price table d'hote menuSuperb a' la Carte menuOur blackboard offering the finest Guernsey fish, shellfish and seafood.A very reasonably priced wine listLocally born Head Chef Ian Carre has been at Le Friquet Hotel for over twelve years.The Hotel Bar stays open all day and leads out on to the patio, the heated swimming pool and private gardens
essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking this carvery out.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very good service. The carvery is very well stocked with a good choice of meats and veg (not over cooked and soggy)
Desserts are VERY good. The apple pie and Sticky Toffee Pudding were EXCELENT!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diskEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“slightly jaded decor but outstanding service”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was undoubtedly the best meal we had on Guernsey. We were a bit disconcerted by the.aged wallpaper and decor but quickly overcame any negative thoughts as the service was so good. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, staff smiled and predicted our needs. The food satisfied teenage boys appetites but had sufficient choice for fussy vegetarians. We wished we had found it earlier as we would have eaten there more often. Plenty of good choices for all and a willingness to go off menu. Only negative was less than crunchy roast potatoes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerriSChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good lunch!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We have had lunch at the falcon carvery in le friquet hotel several times in the past few weeks, in the carvery and also from the a la carte menu,we have not been disapointed any time ! The fish i find is excellent. The service is very good, all the staff are very friendly, the meal was very well priced, the locals use it frequently which is avery good sign! I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good meal at a fair price!

Helpful?
Thank charlesr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great carvery”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hadn't booked but were made very welcome for Sunday carvery. Excellent service, all staff constantly on the move, nothing too much trouble. The beef in particular was so tender, just melt in the mouth. Would have loved to have three courses like my husband because the desserts looked great but couldn't mange one. All in all a great experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and restaurant service but as for hotel service”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have just returned from a week holiday in Guernsey. I'd like to say thank you to Sheev and his team for their attentive service and I have no hesitation in returning. We had a really nice steak for the dinner in the restaurant. We actually wanted to stay in the hotel since the hotel looks beautiful. However, it was a pity that we found the receptionist was not there and even the hotel manager was not there either. So we came there just to eat and there were only Sheev, the restaurant manager who showed us around. I'd definitely recommend the foods in the restaurant and the hotel there should have better management in the hotel it self.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_Reynolds74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefriquet, General Manager at The Falcon Carvery, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Falcon Carvery Restaurant. Your kind comments about our food and the service you received from Sheev our Restaurant Manager are really appreciated and I hope demonstrate the value we place on all our Guests whether eating in the Restaurant or staying in the Hotel.
I am sorry you were unable to speak with a Receptionist or myself at the time. It is very rare that the Reception Desk is unattended, even for a couple of Minutes.
You clearly enjoyed your time in Guernsey and we would like you to return and stay with us. Perhaps I can ask you to contact me personally and I will ensure we deal with your accommodation enquiry promptly and with the same level of enthusiasm that you received when you dined here. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Falcon Carvery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing