We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Carverys I have ever had”
Review of The Falcon Carvery - CLOSED

The Falcon Carvery
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Falcon Carvery Restaurant at Le Friquet HotelOne of the most popular restaurants in Guernsey. The restaurant offers a wide choice of menus to suit most tastes:The popular Falcon CarveryOur fixed price table d'hote menuSuperb a' la Carte menuOur blackboard offering the finest Guernsey fish, shellfish and seafood.A very reasonably priced wine listLocally born Head Chef Ian Carre has been at Le Friquet Hotel for over twelve years.The Hotel Bar stays open all day and leads out on to the patio, the heated swimming pool and private gardens
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Carverys I have ever had”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great meal, sevice a little slow but to be expected for such a popular location but worth the wait! I will attend again and would not hesitate to recomend this hotel for a Sunday lunch with friends again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food - good prices”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really good carvery meal with great choice of meat and vegetables. Prices were reasonable. Will definitely use again when visiting the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good intentions”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We visited for Sunday Lunch recently. We were greeted quite warmly and shown to a table. We had different starters; I had scallops and my wife had a Parma Ham salad. Sadly my scallops had been slightly burnt on the underside although they were otherwise quite tasty although rather small.

We elected to try the Carvery. The Pork, Turkey and Beef were all quite well cooked and not dried out. The vegetables and Yorkshire puddings were rather disappointing with most of the vegetables a bit over cooked for our liking but probably fine for others.
For dessert I had a brandy snap basket with ice cream and some sliced strawberries while my wife had pannacotta.
We also had coffee and some non-alcoholic drinks. The price was relatively low but the service was a little slow at times and lacked the attentiveness that we might have expected.
It was "not too bad" but rather less good than we had told it would be. There were some parties in but it was not unduly crowded. The ambiance is also a little lacking.

Helpful?
1 Thank JimB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value carvery”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We travelled across the island to this carvery as meals started early at 5.45pm and we could have a good value filling meal before our journey back to the UK.
Very friendly and amenable staff, great tasting food and lovely looking hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We ate here a few times as we were in Guernsey for a funeral. Food was very good and presented well, only one gripe, despite saying I was coeliac on more than one occasion we still had no gf bread until day 3. Other than that everything was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Falcon Carvery also viewed

 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing