We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food for thought”
Review of Les Douvres

Les Douvres
Ranked #68 of 242 Restaurants in Guernsey
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food for thought”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Not usually one to put pen to paper so to speak but feel that i must say thanks to the staff of this restaurant today which we visited with some firends today we had our two boys with us and we all settled on having a main and desert, my youngest is only one so he shared the fish pie with his mum. I had the Brill which was on the special board, it was beautifully cooked and the deserts we all found really tasty, the boys did scamper round but we felt really welcome. Would happily visit here with friends and family again soon, excellent value as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 43Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“tasty and good value..”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

went with friends, had the salmon platter with creme fraiche and capers, very tasy, plenty of salmon . Then went for the scallops with chorizo. 8 scallops, very large, plenty of chorizo. My friend had a pizza, looked great, thin and crispy. all very happy with all the food. Sat for ages afterwards, lots of coffees and very relaxing atmosphere. It was a Saturday and very full, i recommend you book to avoid disappointment. would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaggie6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing meal”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

This should be a superb place to visit. The bar is lovely and the location is excellent. But we rarely go because the quality of food is so variable. The staff are pleasant and apologetic but there's no sense that anyone will address the issues here. Tonight we had food served cold, specials off even at 1830, and a meal which bore little resemblance to its description. If your chef can't produce a fancy menu, just go for straightforward honest fare - much better than promising lots and delivering nothing. It should be a great place to visit regularly but unfortunately it's currently beaten hands down by its three immediate local competitors.

Helpful?
Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Les Douvres, Guernsey”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A good old-fashioned country hotel and excellent dining in the bar. Popular with locals living in parish of St Martins and also renowned throughout the Island

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert and Pegg... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Popular Hotel and Restaurant in St Martins”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have been here a few times over the years, good bar and bar meals, friendly staff, good car park. Give this a try if you are in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Douvres also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Been to Les Douvres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing