We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Farm House

The Farm House
Ranked #97 of 422 Restaurants in Jersey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Farm House, a stunning old building that dates back to the 16th Century, has some of the most breath-taking views on Jersey. It encompasses the rich agricultural heritage – yes there are real Jersey cows in touching distance – and views of the blue seas that surround this beautiful island. On our doorstep is some of the finest and freshest ingredients one could wish for. Our philosophy at The Farm House has always been to use as much high quality, locally grown and sourced ingredients as possible. And all freshly prepared daily by Chef Andrew and his team. The Farm House is the perfect venue for those special celebrations and events. We have a large sun terrace overlooking the Join us for a glass of something cold or a coffee and chat to the team about your requirements, whether it be that once in a life time wedding reception, a birthday or company day out. We are confident we can deliver an exceptional personalised experience.
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Well looking forward to this meal out with family but was let down.
To start with they didn't have our reservation even though booked online 2 weeks before.
The waitress was polite but got one order wrong, never came back to see how the food was, never asked if we wanted more drinks and at the end of the main course didn't ask if we would like dessert menus so 15 mins of waiting we ended up going to the bar to pay the bill.
The food - Starters were nice. But mains weren't great the fish & chips were ok but the fish & chip shop in liberation sq wins hands down & is cheaper I wouldn't bother with the house burger, expecting a nice juicy homemade burger but instead got what looked & tasted like a processed burger with what felt like a full onion on, was pretty poor for £10 had better at a football match.
And lastly £1.60 for a can of warm coke is in my eyes shocking.
One thing which was a plus, was a member of staff came over & gave both my daughters a bag with easter goodies in it which I think was a nice.
Wouldn't go back in a hurry

Thank N0rthern_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi N0rthern_monkey,

Thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear that you weren't totally happy with your experience at The Farm House. We'd like to look into this further for you to ensure we do all we can to rectify the situation. If you could please send an email to nigel@theboathousegoup.com detailing when you visited and we will be happy to deal with this closely for you.

Kind regards,

The Boat House Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We went here with a few friends for lunch. Everyone raved about the food. The fish and chips were brilliant I'm told. Three of us had the liver for main course and it was beautiful. A great lunch with nice service.

Thank ZZJonZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi JohnLJersey,

Great. We're glad to receive such a positive review.

Do come again.

The Boat House Group management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Not tried any pub restaurants in Jersey before and went here on the spur of the moment. It has a nice friendly atmosphere, a very wide ranging menu, including a 3 course menu for £10, and specials. We were spoilt for choice. We had the gammon and the fish and chips and they were both very good. The fish wasn't specified, and in some places when the type of fish isn't specified, it can be awful. Whatever this was, it was very tasty. We hadn't booked so had to wait a little while, but there was a comfortable area we were encouraged to sit in and have drinks while we waited, the orders for food were taken there, and we were taken to the table when the food was ready.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmyMaudRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Farm House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Trishmw,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us. Sometimes the best things can come out of a spur of the moment.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Boat House Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Came back from a lovely meal tonight, I had the wonderful tennerfest menu and my husband had the baby back ribs and it was amazing. Well pleased and can't wait to return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerseyswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is an amazing place for family meal. it is worth going there for kids to enjoy the indoor soft play area and outside play area ( if it does not rain!). we went there for the Tennerfest. the food from the Tennerfest menu cost £10 per person and was good for this value but not as delicious as in the Boat House (believe they are part of the same chain). In all we enjoyed it because our kid had a great time in the soft play area and would recommend it for nice family atmosphere but would not on be our top choice for food. It is very busy during weekends, booking is essential

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NikAndNataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farm House also viewed

 
St Aubin, St Brelade
Jersey, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing