We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine dinner served with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Moinerie Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

La Moinerie Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$23 - US$138
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Devine dinner served with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at La Moinerie with half board - the cozy, medieval-style dining room with fireplace was the setting for an incredible dinner served by the most delightful wait staff whose intent was clearly to create enjoyment. Food - delicious (lobster!). Wine selection - very good. Sark is amazing and La Moinerie delivers the perfect retreat after all the walking and biking. And I would be remiss to not mention breakfast - also a highlight!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Impressed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely little hotel tucked away in the Vineyards .. and a fantastic little menu. We were delighted to have had lunch in this little Hotel where the staff helped make the meal by being so helpful and accommodating ! My partner is a vegetarian and when asked if the Chef could offer any alternatives to the menu he was delighted to, and made her a very tasty Gnocchi using wild garlic, mushrooms - all local to the island. the meals were washed down with very reasonably priced £5 a glass house wine ... and to top the meal off the staff arranged for us to leave the hotel in an open top Horse and carriage for a guided tour ... level o service was exemplary !! we will be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Little off the beaten track up a muddy road after rain but well worth it excellent food and accomodation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foggygom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Food Great, the two girls behind the bar were chatty which was lovely.
we turned up in walking boots, but that was ok , this is a lovely place to eat. nice walk back with head torches, even took a short cut, and didn't get lost!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“idyllic setting marvelous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

we ate two meals at La Moinerie and we wished we were on the island longer to go back for more. We had on both occasions in our party, Lobster, rib eye steak, pork shoulder roll Pollock in batter we couldn't recommend it more highly. Beautiful garden the rope swing was a hit with the kids (and adults) too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lealea48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMoinerie M, Manager at La Moinerie Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed the local produce and look forward to welcoming you to La Moinerie Restaurant to enjoy more again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Moinerie Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sark, Channel Islands
Sark, Channel Islands
 
Sark, Channel Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing