We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk,UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel has been transformed in recent years, and is usually number 1 on Tripadvisor, for good reasons.Perfect location, superb standards of room finish, and really excellent and friendly service.
Sark is a truly beautiful island, and this place is a gem to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    53
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
126
340
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

It is always a risk when booking a hotel without a personal recommendation but I have to say we got it right! The charm of this hotel is that it is independent and therefore individual. An experience you don't get in chain hotels. Our party comprised of 3 adults and a dog. I stayed in the Dower House with the dog and the other 2 in the Hayloft. Hayloft rooms are very good and separate from the main house with nobody above or below you. The Dower room was on the ground floor and a little on the small side with the sound of the occupants in the room above unfortunately travelling a bit. However, that aside the approach to the hotel from the village was idyllic and the hotel itself looked charming. The hotel truly catered for all your needs. Service was excellent and food outstanding with 3 menus in two different locations. Also the position on the island was very good for getting around as centrally based and with only your legs, bike or horse for transport that was a good thing! Didn't get in the pool although open as just too little time spent around the island and only a one night stay. Horse ride supplied by the hotel was lovely too. I would strongly recommend this hotel and I travel a lot so am fairly jaded when it comes to hotel staying! We chose the right hotel without a shadow of a doubt albeit it top of the range but for a treat and with luxuries available at the end of a hard biking day it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Hayloft! Only Dower House ground floor for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 861Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay was for four nights in Room 303 a suite that consisted of a double bedroom, showroom and a lounge. It's difficult to improve on the majority of comments that have previously been made before. The hotel is great. The slick operation of transporting the bags was excellent. The house keeping is worth a mention as we never saw them only the result of their work. Even the turn down service happened while we weren't looking. Must be done by the Sark pixies. I can confirm a lot of the statements that have gone before that the food is very good. How they manage to keep the standard up for every course on every night is fantastic. We opted for half board and had the set menu every night which was excellent value. Wine selection was good and varied. A relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bazzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

From the moment we arrived, to our departure, our stay was perfect. We cannot fault the standard of accomodation, the food or the wonderful staff. The novelty of no cars on the island is a positive bonus and the coastal vistas at the end of most tracks were amazing. Getting back up from the waters edge needed some stamina though so I would not suggest a visit to the island for those who have mobility problems or young children. I had a lovely massage but wonder if the spa room could be better used if there was a wider range of treatments available. Visit soon, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths so contact hotel prior to arrival if you require one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had the pleasure of having our wedding reception at Stocks Hotel on Saturday 17th August 2013. All the team at Stocks made our day a fantastic and memorable one. From the initial enquiry with Monika to the detailed meeting with Alex and Kathleen everything was so perfect. Pascal and his team created a wonderful menu and the meal was cooked to perfection. Mandy and Helen made the wedding breakfast room look amazing and we can't thank you enough. Josh and the bar team had the welcome drinks and bar service very well organised. Paul ensured all was organised on the day. Our family and friends had a truly amazing time. A big thankyou to Robbie for his great playlist!!! Our wedding suite was spotless with the added touch of petals waiting for us, not forgetting the excellent breakfast and service we received!!! Amazing Thankyou, Claire & Carl Blackburn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Unfortunately we only had three nights at Stocks, we could've stayed for two weeks! So peaceful and the grounds are beautiful, we especially enjoyed our night time Jacuzzi! Our room was spacious and spotless, couldn't have asked for better. Breakfast was superb and we had dinner in the bistro which was cooked perfectly, special thanks to Trina and Shona in the bistro and Cat in the Smugglers Bar. It was truely five star start to finish and we would love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our first stay at Stocks, and definitely not our last! The incredibly peaceful surroundings were matched by the friendly staff, the amazing food, the wonderful service and attention to detail, resulting in a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
18.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Property: Stocks Hotel
Address: Stocks Lane, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing