We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal "get away from it all" business meeting location”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Charlestown, Nevis
1 review
“Ideal "get away from it all" business meeting location”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you are planning a business development weekend with your senior managers then, almost literally, push the boat out and consider this absolutely beautifully renovated hotel on the island of Sark, virtually the land that time forgot.
This is exactly what my Group have just done and is was a fantastic location to get away from everything mechanical, except tractors, and concentrate on the business and, more importantly for most people, of course the "teambuilding" activities conducted in the well stocked bar and restaurant. The rooms were indiviually decorated and the beds about the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The only problem in the rooms outside the main building, for business people, was the poor wireless internet connection but, if you ask at reception, they have boosters to solve this small problem which, if you are holdaying, should not be an issue as the beauty of Sark is the opportuntity to be Dr Who and go back in time and leave the internet at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT50NEVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
354
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic 2 nights at Stocks for a birthday getaway. Beautiful rooms, excellent helpful and friendly staff and some of the best food we have had in the CI. Perfect relaxing break. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guernesiaise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

What an amazing hotel on the idyllic isle of Sark! We stayed there from Thursday to Monday inclusive and were treated to the most wonderful hospitality and food to die for! Quite literally, as we were there for a murder mystery weekend which ran from Friday night through to Sunday lunchtime.

All of the staff were highly trained and first class but a special mention must go to Monika the function coordinator and Gabrielle the restaurant manager, whose attention to details and service were second to none.

This privately owned hotel should be on everyone’s list of venues to visit; not just for the outstanding quality of the food, which is predominantly local and home grown, but for location, cleanliness and being home from home (assuming you live in luxurious but not pretentious surroundings!).

They have a very well stocked bar which is quaint and full of character, a bistro (open in the summer months), a library, spacious lounge and a private dining room which can be used for anything from cookery demonstrations to ice sculpturing, from learning how to ice a cake to dining with your own personal Chef.

The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We were treated to a turn down service by the housekeeping staff, who were unobtrusive, attending to our rooms whilst we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast in the oak panelled restaurant.

The grounds are equal to any stately home and include a swimming pool, paddling pool and hot tub.

I am very pleased to recommend this hotel irrespective of why you wish be there as whatever the reason you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurderMystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I along with friends have just returned from an extremely enjoyable long weekend at Stocks Hotel. It was our first time on Sark so we weren't really sure what to expect but it was a very pleasant surprise. The island is charming and peaceful with miles of great coastal walks and no cars!! We had booked the 'Murder Mystery Weekend' which was very well organised and great fun.....definately a date to put in the diary as it could become an annual event!
The hotel has a home from home feel with spacious comfortable rooms, a very cosy bar and traditionally furnished lounge to relax in and dining room. We eat in the restaurant every evening and the menu was extremely varied using fresh local ingredients... every meal was absolutely delicious although I have to say breakfast was exceptionally good.
What really makes this hotel special though are the management and staff who couldn't have done more to make our trip so memorable. We will definately be back ... thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunworshipper313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Unfortunately we could only spend one night here but it was wonderful. Our daughter was accommodated in an adjoining room (which she loved) which we really hadn't expected, (and for very little extra). Our bed was incredibly comfortable. The room overlooked the immaculate front lawn. Lovely.

All the staff seemed so very pleasant and seem to be genuinely interested in their guests and the relaxed but efficient attitude really helps one unwind. Mr.Armorgie seems to be everywhere, all the time! Does he get any time off ? So welcoming and enthusiastic.

The meal we eventually decided upon was the Tennerfest choice (£20 ). Quite honestly it was best Tennerfest we'd ever had. Smoked duck slices with Pont l'eveque bon bon followed by an amazing sea bass with mussels and crevettes...

Anyway, now I know why people look forward to their return to this hotel. Brilliantly well run and a real tonic to tired exhausted souls as we were yesterday afternoon. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend with friends earlier in the year, and feel compelled to tell all about this wonderful home away from home. Stocks hotel is a wonderful testerment to what excellent management, with a personal interest in the quality of the facilities and its enjoyment by the guests can achieve. The attention to detail far surpassed any of the other hotels we have stayed at in Sark. The superior rooms were spacious, tastfully decorated and impecably clean. We were staying on a half board basis and was delighted with the flexibility that this allowed. We could eat dinner in any of their 3 or 4 restaurant/ bar dining locations. The four of us could chose any combination of dishes from the different menus on offer in which ever restaurant we chose to dine in. The staff could not do enough to make sure that we felt at home and nothing was a problem. I went home feeling more relaxed than I have in a very long time. Hats off to the owner managers at Stocks. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My little brunette and I had a fantastic break on Big Sark recently on a promotional break.
I couldn't wait to get over so we caught the early morning boat and had a cooked Sark Breakfast in the high street on our way to the hotel.
The room we were given was exceptional with a separate lounge and I have to say that this is the best Hotel on Sark.
The pool and its facilities, the garden the staff, food and service were all exceptional.
The high light though was the Breakfast served in the Hotel. A fantastic buffet with fine array and we had an authentic Sark cooked breakfast with an award winning black pudding.
We cant wait to go back again and again.
I thoroughly recommend this place to stay in.u

Room Tip: Relax and chill out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
550 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Property: Stocks Hotel
Address: Stocks Lane, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing