We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stocks - Memorable”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stocks - Memorable”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our stay at the hotel was for two nights and we only wished now we had booked to stay longer. We really enjoyed our stay - couldn't fault anything and hope to be able to return in the future. The Island of Sark is lovely and everyone so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
354
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very lovely hotel on a very lovely island. Everything is beautifully done. The rooms are spacious, airy, gorgeously furnished and comfortable. The garden is lovely. The staff are helpful and friendly. The room is cleaned twice a day and the turn-down service with chocolates on the bed, makes you feel very pampered. The shower did flood the bathroom a bit but the efficient cleaners always sorted it out so it wasn't much of a problem. You can tell it's properly posh because in the ladies' there are small cloth towels instead of paper towels and there is handcream! Unfortunately, I didn't get to try the pool or hot tub, as we were too busy exploring all the beaches and clifftop walks of Sark, which is a stunning place.
We had delicous meals in the restaurant and drinks in the cosy bar. The drinks are more expensive here than other places on the island though. If you're here for more than a couple of nights, you might want to venture out. There is only one other place nearby, so if you don't want to eat here every night, there is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the village and you absolutely need a torch if you're out after dark, as it's a dark sky island with no streetlamps and uneven paths. I definitely wouldn't recommend Sark for someone with mobility issues.
We had a fab break at Stocks and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I expect they're all great but we had room 111 which was amazing: a huge attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As a family ranging from grandchildren to grandparents we couldn't have had a better time than our wonderfully relaxing visit to Stocks. Superb food, very comfortable clean rooms. Friendly staff, great gardens and pool and help with early teas and babysitting for children. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a suite at the top, great, but quite a few stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Stocks hotel, and cannot stop talking about it. It's a lovely setting and a wonderful, peaceful place to stay in, The food was superb, in fact it was a bit too good, cos we ate rather too much,. The staff really made it memorable, so we will definitely return to this beautiful little island, and of course the Stocks hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjyeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first visit to Sark. Its a very special place. Anyone who hasn't been before, be warned you are advised to pack walking boots. Most walks result in an upward climb. Ive developed muscles in my caves i didn't know i had!! For example, It was 161 steps down (and up of course) to Derrible Bay.
Stocks Hotel has been fantastic and i thank all of the staff for their kindness and hospitality. A truly magical place.
The food is superb. Top rate - although a little pricey in the fine dining.
It wasn't until our last night we realised that other people were ordering from the somewhat cheaper and varied Bistro and Bar menu, (even though they were in the fine dining restaurant), so we missed an opportunity where we could have enjoyed the hotel comforts and wonderful menu choices (thinking we could only choose from the fine dining menu) by seeking a dinner elsewhere for a couple of nights. We will know for next time! The cheapest bottle of wine is about £18. Worth noting that we ate at other restaurants on the island and found some very nice French wines starting at £12 and beer at £2 per pint.
I would not recommend room 106 if you want an early night or a bit of a lay-in in the morning. It is located right over the bar so you can hear all conversations in the bar until closing. Also, you can hear all ablutions from the room above including running taps, flushing loo and the glug of water in YOUR bath as the occupants of the room above empties theirs.
However, we didn't let it spoil our time at Stocks and we would definitely go again.
Chocs on the bed at night are a lovely touch, and i recommend the horse and carriage tour with Julie.
Stocks Hotel you are to be congratulated. Lovely location, very friendly staff and superb food. My compliments to the chef. Hopefully we will be able to return one day. Thank you.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac59smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first holiday on the beautiful island of Sark and we are so pleased that we chose to stay at Stocks. My wife and I had a fabulous time and we would thoroughly recommend the hotel to everyone who wants to visit Sark. The food at Stocks was simply superb and we must say a special word of thanks to Julie and Ronaldo for a wonderful horse and carriage ride round the island. Thank you Stocks for making our first time on Sark so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we recently stayed in Stocks Hotel on the Channel Island of Sark. The island itself is a step back in time, so relaxed & beautiful. Stocks hotel is an elegant, peaceful & extremely hospitable place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable with beautiful soft furnishings. The whole hotel is beautifully & tastefully built with beautiful planted grounds & terrace area near the swimming pool with hot tub. I enjoyed a spa treatment there. All the staff were so very friendly & helpful. A lovely touch each night was to find our beds turned down & a chocolate left for each of us.......seemed like a message letting us know that even last thing at night our comfort was still very much in the Hotels minds.
If you want an extra special treat with top class friendly service then Stocks is the place to stay

Room Tip: because of the locality set in a valley any room at the hotel is peaceful..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
9.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Property: Stocks Hotel
Address: Stocks Lane, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing