We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Bistro food was lovely, rooms clean and decorated in a pretty cottage style, the service was amazing. Thank you for your help whilst my husband wasn't feeling well...too much sun apparently! The only unpleasant bit was the room location overlooking the courtyard, two groups of noisy people coming out of the bar, needed asking to move on. We came for the stars in the night sky but the evening was cloudy...this means we will have to return :)

Room Tip: rooms that do not overlook the pool or courtyard unless you intend to be in the bar until late
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elain15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
There are newer reviews for Stocks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

A lovely quiet hotel. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff and a good place to explore Sark from, to sit by the pool or enjoy the hotel gardens. Our stay was enhanced by wonderful weather but would be worth a visit at any time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First class all round. Ticks all the boxes and more. Lovely comfortable room, excellent service. Wonderful food and great service. Friendly staff. Wonderful combination of being off the beaten track and 5 star treatment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Putlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed a long weekend here.
A really peaceful time without cars we enjoyed cycling around the island what a great little village.
We ate in the main restaurant and in the Bistro and enjoyed all our meals including breakfasts.
This is a luxury hotel in a superb location the staff were all first class and very attentive.
We liked the pool and patio area.
It seems really strange that a Hotel of this standard only allows 3 hangars in our wardrobe, what a shame. We would return and hangars are cheap in Matalan.

Room Tip: Curtains don't fit that we'll choose West facing in summer.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for one night. From the outset, I was most impressed. The reception staff emailed me to advise me how to get to the hotel, how to arrange for our bags to get from the boat to the hotel, and other helpful administrative things. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed by Kate, on reception. She helpfully showed us around the hotel, booked us in for dinner, and showed us to our room, where our luggage was already waiting for us.

The room was on the 2nd floor and was very bright. The bathroom was the best part - the shower was powerful and the whole bathroom was spotless. Cookies and complimentary water are left for guests as well, which is a nice touch.

The grounds are lovely and the location of the hotel is great - close to everything but not too close!

The bed was comfortable; the only downsides were the heat - there was no air-conditioning and the the windows were closed during turndown service, which meant that the room was stifling by the time we got back after dinner - and the pillows were very hard and flat and I woke with a very stiff neck.

This was soon remedied as I booked a 1 hour massage before the boat left. It was the best massage I have had and I recommend the therapist to anyone staying on the island. Very relaxing and he knows what he is doing!

All in all, a great stay, and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We're just back from four nights on Sark staying at Stocks, and the whole experience was everything we had hoped it would be and more. Delightful hotel, excellent food, friendly and courteous staff.....then there's the island. We loved every minute of our stay and will certainly return. If you enjoy the simple pleasures of life such as walking, exploring and a relaxed atmosphere in convivial surroundings then Sark is for you.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the courtyard can be a bit noisy early in the morning with staff coming and going...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

but Stocks is the real thing.
On September 21st this year, it will have been two years since I had the most magical and wondrous birthday in this beautiful bespoke and charming hotel. No, indeed, it was not a hotel, but an experience. A photograph of us all is the slowest beast of all postage. It will get there. Thank you. Emma Raworth

Room Tip: None. All perfection.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
817 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
840 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
334 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Address: Stocks Lane, Dixcart Valley, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: £126 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing