We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxing Break”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

La Sablonnerie really is getting away from it all as one crosses La Coupee on foot (H and S!) behind the immaculate horse and carriage, leaving the trippers behind in the village and clopping through the country lanes with views across the sea to a true garden hotel. Most efficiently our cases brought by brother Peter in his tractor were already in our room.

First time on Sark, we had found it was the Sheep Races weekend (which actually turned out to be great fun) but a great relief to be staying at quirky, quiet and very independently run by Elizabeth, La Sablonnerie. Rather small room outside (but we were last minute guests) but quiet and perfectly adequate in good weather. Fruit and flowers in the room and welcome coffee tray first thing, and a slug of sloe gin last thing after an excellent dinner (made from the sloe bushes on the farm).

We really appreciated the five star professionalism of all the staff with Nigel and the chef producing good reasonable wines and delicous food. We loved eating outside on a balmy evening, and returning from stunning walks to the pretty gardens to lunch or drinks there or in the neighbouring Tea Garden (also owned by the Perrees).

Apart from the quiet comfort of the hotel on Little Sark and scenery, we loved visiting the glorious walled garden of La Seineurie and the carriage rides efficiently organised by Elizabeth. We just hope that old Sark families like the Perrees continue to give such pleasure to visitors, and resist the wholesale attempts at acquisition by The Brothers that could turn Sark into any other resort island.

Room Tip: Ask for a good sized room or the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed four nights with Elisabeth and her staff and have nowhere ever felt so welcome !! They did everything to make us feel like king and queen and we enjoyed the way they did that. La Sablonnerie is a lovely small hotel on a fabulous island with excellent food. The next time on Sark will certainly be in this hotel.
Hans en Margriet, Soest, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hnosoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Thank you for such a memorable stay at La Sablonnerie.

We spent fantastic family holidays on Sark during the 1980's and it was an outstanding hotel then. For a special present, our children treated us to another holiday in Sark this April. It was even better then we remembered.

The restaurant was outstanding. I was a commercial fisherman for many years and the fresh brill and bass was cooked to perfection. The quality of the food at La Sablonnerie would give a top French restaurant a run for their money any time.

We cannot thank the owners and the staff enough for such a lovely holiday.

Lindy and Quentin Rae

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyrae262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Sablonnerie for 4 nights in July. It is the most peaceful, quiet spot, totally relaxing and a gentle unhurried way of life. The hotel was comfortable, the service friendly and helpful and the food delicious. The provision of a horse and carriage to take you to the centre of the island most useful as we were not able to walk as much as in the past! We recommend wholeheartedly for those wishing to get away from a busy working life.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madge018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in the honeymoon suite in this charming farmhouse/hotel and it was utterly peaceful, totally delightful and with superb service and fabulous food. A unique experience. We can heartily recommend it if you're looking for a glimpse of a simpler life with a traditional feel.

Room Tip: It's a farmhouse so rooms are quaint but do ask Elizabeth for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was our second trip to La Sablonnerie, having enjoyed the whole experience two years ago. Nothing had changed and it was just perfect. Elizabeth Perree, the host, is a bit Basil Fawlty-like, but in a completely beguiling way. The service is fantastic and the staff are the friendliest and most welcoming I have met at any hotel. The food was excellent and the wine very reasonable. It will not suit everyone, and many will see it as very expensive considering the lack of amenities and modern-day facilities, but in may ways that is the charm, and if you want to get away from the stresses and strains of the real world, this is an idyllic retreat. Combine this with the most picturesque setting and you can clearly understand why visitors return again and again.

Room Tip: When asking for a room you are generally quoted the most expensive available, so ask if there are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Sark is a superb destination for a holiday - peaceful,tranquil and with an atmosphere all of it own. La Sablonnerie is the perfect place in which to stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to immerse themselves in the ambience and special qualities of Sark. The food is outstanding, the service exceptional without being intrusive and the accommodation is very comfortable. In fine weather, what better place is there to take your evening meal than at a table in the splendid, colourful garden? The host, Elizabeth Perree is very welcoming - a real personality who always finds time to speak to her guests. La Sablonnerie definitely adds something to your stay on Sark.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
712 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
7.8 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
692 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: £365 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing