We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

wonderful service with very friendly relaxed genuine staff
Moved a table outside for us so we could sit with our dog outside

inside was old homely and lovely from a generation gone
food was wonderful! fresh local lobster professionally presented

what a hidden treat this place is ..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equestrianexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

A stay at La Sablonnerie is a stay in paradise. The only hotel to be found on LIttle Sark a sublimely tranquil and beautiful place. It is full of the charm and character of a bygone age (the clip clop of horses hooves in the lane - no cars) but with none of the discomforts. The food was excellent and we appreciated the care which the chef took in preparing a varied menu. In fact we were well looked after by everyone concerned as always - we come back year after year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Booked a couple of days short break in a twin room. Arrived to find we had been upgraded, at no extra cost, to one of their beautiful cottages!! Cottage fairies came in each time we left the cottage to build up the wood burning stove and replace any damp towels. After a delightful evening in the restaurant we returned to our cottage to find lamps lit, heating on in the bedrooms AND hot water bottles in the beds!!!! The staff were attentive without being over bearing and could not do enough to help. On checking out to set us on our way we were given a sloe gin and our suitcases delivered to the harbor for our departure later that day. We would strongly recommend this amazing hotel to anyone wanting a special time away.

Pauline and Sandra

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Returned to sablonnerie at the end of April, once again
Had a very relaxing few days,Liz and staff are on top form very welcoming.
We enjoyed a lovely dinner, lobsters mouth watering,
Everything about the food was wonderful, can't wait until our next visit, sooner than later.



Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent the weekend there and it was simply marvelous. From the horse and carriage ride standing ready to take you up to the hotel to the hot water bottle service in the evening. We resided in a cottage that featured a log burner that was already burning when we arrived, making for a cozy and warm atmosphere. The five course dinner included in a full B&B is absolutely, positively and unabashedly worth it. It starts from eating a canapé at the bar and ends with a delicious dessert. The service is top notch and will make your stay that much more comfortable.

Room Tip: Get the cottage, it has a log burner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel, in a beautiful location, is something that everyone should experience! The staff were extremely welcome and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. The food was exceptional. The hotel has old-world charm - open fire and hot water bottles in our bedroom!
Elizabeth Perree runs a remarkable establishment and if you go to Sark, this is the place to stay.
We loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited La Sablonnerie for a night with friends and quite simply enjoyed every minute of it. The privately owned La Sablonnerie is perfectly placed away from the modern world and in my opinion, should never change or even attempt to. Liz is the perfect host, her vitality and zest for life is obvious - managing 40 staff and looking after the whole of Little Sark her family do a great job.

La Sablonnerie is famous for its quality food and yet again did not disappoint, our five course evening dinner was superb as was breakfast. Undoubtedly the best food available in Sark.

Our accommodation was a three bedroom bungalow set just up the hill from the hotel. The notably clean bungalow (amazing on such a dusty island) gave complete privacy whilst the private garden boasted great views. Although the evening was cold they had thought of everything and when we returned from dinner there were electric fires and filled hot water bottles on every bed which was a lovely touch!

I can safely say we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and highly recommend the hotel to those who are happy to step off the treadmill and enjoy some peace and quiet. Don't expect modern 'up to the minute' luxuries, they don't exist and nor should they. La Sablonnerie is one of a kind and I for one hope it never changes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtorode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
712 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
20.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: £362 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing