We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-visit”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Re-visit”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Sometimes when you return to a place it can be a disappointment - this, however, is an exception. La Sablonnerie was even better second time around and is now at the top of my best hotels ever list. The attention to detail cannot be beaten from the hot water bottles in your bed at night to the raked sand driveways and to cap it all the food is close to Michelin star quality. Magic!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltwaterdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    40
    3
    9
    14
See reviews for
111
288
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

La Sablonnerie is the most fantastic place for a get away from it all holiday or short break. Starting our journey in city traffic, we arrived at the hotel in a horse-drawn carriage at a slow relaxing pace which continued through the holiday. No TV, no internet, no cars, no mobile phone signal (on that one you may find you vary), no locks on the doors. We slept, ate magnificently, walked a lot and read a lot. The staff are wonderful, attentive and friendly, and Elizabeth is incomparably hospitable. Our room was upgraded and I truly got the feeling that nothing a guest asked for would be too much trouble. If visiting for a day have a wonderful lunch in the gardens or something lighter in the tea gardens. Read the other reviews. Like them I can't recommend this place high enough and I look forward to coming back.
Lots to see in Sark - we walked along beautiful wild clifftop paths, preceded by duetting butterflies, ending in fabulous views. Note that paths can be steep: take walking boots not flip flops. As it's a Dark Sky Island load up Google Sky Maps in advance!

Room Tip: All the rooms are tasteful, comfortable, charming and quirky. Many are in converted outbuildings or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A weekend of sheer bliss from the moment of arrival to departure. Terrifically attentive yet relaxed staff, beautiful food and lovely comfortable accommodation. If you really do want to get away from it all then there is truly no better place. Thank you to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent three remarkable days in late April celebrating our mother´s Anniversary. The staff did a fantastic job, the food was excellent and we couldn´t have chosen a better place"

Everything was special. The food, the excellent service and the beautiful landscape.. It was a perfect place if you want to celebrate something special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As the previous reviewer (and countless others) have said, this is a superb small hotel. I have just spent four nights here and I can only echo the comments made in previous reviews. In particular, the bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in (with Egyptian cotton sheets), a hot water bottle being placed in the bed by the "turndown fairies" who one never sees! A similar housekeeping service happens in the morning - with the bed being made whilst one is having breakfast, and vacuuming etc happening later when one is not in the room! Superb fluffy towels, face cloths - nothing is forgotten. The food is first class. Breakfast offers a cooked to order range of options and a small but first class continental style breakfast buffet. Dinner is always delicious, and Nigel (an extraordinary man!) will choose your wine for you if (like me) you love wine but have little knowledge. Everything goes like clockwork, with Elizabeth Perree at the helm. All the staff are great - as well as Nigel, there is Martin, David, Eric as well as the army of housekeeping staff. Staying here is an absolute joy.

Room Tip: I was allocated one of the chalet rooms, well away from the restaurant and bar. I live locally and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkanglican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just a three night stay on Little Sark at the most superb small hotel. The accommodation was luxurious and the care taken by the proprietress and staff was extraordinary. The chef is truly a Masterchef producing the most exquisite five course dinner each evening - each course beautifully presented - portions just right to leave one looking forward to the next course. The waiting staff were very attentive and courteous. And during dinner the household staff carefully turned down the bedding, placed hot water bottles on each side of the king size bed and laid out new towelling in the bathroom and left no other trace of them having been in attendance. The breakfasts were equally attractive - the kippers superb! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antipodeanadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I brought my wife here in our golden wedding year also on a big Birthday, having promised to show her the Island I had visited first as a Boy Scout and the following year, as a family to re-visit the farm, where the camp had been. Elisabeth is the daughter of the Farmer, whose family had acquired La Sablonnerie, when she had grown up!
My wife has declared it her best ever holiday and is now desperate to return some time.
The welcome was amazing, we were met by the hotel's carriage having left our luggage in the hands of the ferry, to be found waiting for us in our room, or rather, a cottage, with welcoming fire, and the whole cottage to ourselves.
The service was impeccable, with every enquiry dealt with enthusiastically by any of the staff.
All the other guests were charming, friendly and, without exception, returnees.
The catering was superb with an excellent Breakfast selection of cooked to order traditional English to continental style buffet. The evening meal was excellent, with a superb Gourmet menu, a five course delight!
We felt thoroughly cosseted, Elizabeth, and will definitely be returning! Peter and Tina Hood, Frinton-on-Sea, Essex.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sark
673 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Property: La Sablonnerie
Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing