We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation, great food and attentive service ……”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have just returned from an idyllic short break on Sark staying at the La Sablonnerie. We stayed in room 14 that is the Honeymoon suite and is featured in the brochure and is truly beautiful. You have a lounge that is very well furnished with a separate large bedroom and bathroom. Flowers and fruit greeted our arrival in the room that was wonderfully clean and well presented.

This was our first visit to Sark and it was a superb trip. We were collected by carriage, which was arranged by the hotel, from the boat as no cars are allowed on the Island and taken on the short trip to the hotel, which was a lovely way to travel and get to see some of the Island. It really did feel like going back in time.

The Island has lots of places to walk & see – We hired bikes that made getting around easier and allowed us to see most of the Island sites in the 3 days.

The Hotel dates back to 1500’s and is steeped in history – The owner has done a great job to keep as much of the originality whilst creating a very comfortable hotel. This is not your typical city centre 4 star hotel with every room the same and with state of the art entertainment systems etc – This is a piece of history with uniqueness and not a TV or radio to disturb the piece (although I believe one could be provided if anyone felt the need). The feeling was more of being a houseguest in someone’s country home than patron of your typical hotel where you are “just another punter”.

The staff are just fantastic always on hand and nothing is too much trouble. The whole hotel is scrupulously clean and well groomed with the gravel paths raked before breakfast, windows cleaned daily (it seemed) and the rooms refreshed during breakfast, cleaned during guest absence during the day and turned down during dinner.

Food was just great – Good choice and lovely presentation.

It turned a little colder on Monday and when we got back to our room after dinner what a nice surprise we got as we slipped between the crisp linen sheets to find 2 hot water bottles warming the bed!

On leaving the hotel the luggage was left in our room and the next time we saw it was as we boarded the boat and it was already safely on board without us having to lift a finger!

If you want total relaxation, great food and attentive service this really is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We have enjoyed a wonderful break on Little Sark as guests of the Le Sablonnerie. We could not recommend it more highly on every front. We stayed in one of the small cottages which was absolutley charming. The food was excellent and Elizabeth and her excellent staff spared no effort in keeping us comfortable and well looked after. The entire surroundings were a delight and we'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydoodaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We have just come back from a wonderful three night stay and we have all had the most wonderful time.
We were given a lovely welcome and taken down to the little cottage which were staying in. There were fresly picked flowers in every room, fresh fruit and most importantly it was spotlessly clean. Every night the beds were turned down, a lovely touch that so many hotels seem to have economised on and hot water bottles placed under the covers ( not that they were necessary as the rooms were cosy and warm) a real treat!
A tea tray was brought each morning with homemade biscuits and fresh flowers!
The food was delicious, the lobster thermidor and the crab soup a true highlight. The sloe gin a great night cap!
The decor feels like you have gone back in time, it is warm, welcoming, clean and a wonderful place to relax. A welcome change from the carbon copy boutique hotels that are all the rage.
Cycling was great fun, wewere spoiled with great weather. We all enjoyed the horse drawn carriage taking us back to the ferry with Elizabeth giving us a warm send off!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billbo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We visited La Sablonnerie last week for our honeymoon. My husband organised the trip as a surprise and I will never forget the view coming towards the hotel, with the sun setting over La Coupee - it was magical. We had a superb stay. We have limited experience of 'luxury' hotels and I can see how this hotel might surprise some expectations - for example, no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, no TVs - but then again, this is not what one comes to Little Sark for. The atmosphere was both simple and luxurious - more of a shooting-lodge or chalet feeling than a Hilton where you can spend all your time in your room. Our room was cozy and comfortable, with lovely free toiletries, plush towels, great heating, a great bath, and a huge complimentary fruit basket. Sark has a very special atmosphere - luxurious yet welcoming to those in soggy hiking gear - and La Sablonnerie was formal and informal in all the right ways: helpful, polite yet friendly staff, a very smart but also comfortable and ambient restaurant, and truly superb food (some of the best I've ever had) to match the stunning surroundings. Highly recommended for anyone who fancies a simple yet very special break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fzr_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I recently stayed for 2 nights with my wife, our third stay at this charming hotel. The absence of telephones and TV's in the rooms provides a totally peaceful atmosphere, perfectly in keeping with the lovely island of Sark. What a delight to be able to live in a bygone era for a few days!
The hotel food was of excellent quality with extremely generous portions provided. Service both in the hotel and the restaurant was professional and friendly - without being over-bearing.
We were lucky enough to have the run of the cottage in the grounds (which normally sleeps 8), which added to our overall experience.
Elizabeth, the owner, is a delightful host who cares greatly about the reputation of her charming hotel.
Thanks to all at the Sablonnerie for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0betrekker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This was the fifth time at La Sablonnerie, a hotel I can only recommend warmly to all visitors to Sark.

I was able, this year to take a friend from western Canada who was new to the island, having been myself on four occasions in past years. It is hard to believe that such a place, as to its setting in the most remote and picturesque part of the island, actually forms part of modern western Europe, such is the peace and at the same time the natural excitement of the setting, nestling in a small, intimate hamlet in the southern, semi-wild part of Sark, close to the famous Venus and Adonis pools and the old silver mines.

The hotel itself was in very way as lovely as it has ever been: the food is truly superb and the service memorably attentive; the surrounding gardens and the room we used was comfortable, with plenty of hot water and mountains of clean towels refreshed several times each day - and not simply a clone of anything you might find in a modern hotel.

The vast breakfasts are liberally tailored to anyone's taste - we had excellent full English fare cooked just as we preferred each day, including excellent kippers (one can also opt for smoked haddock): we were set up for a whole day exploring the byways, beaches and sea-caves for which the island is famous. No wonder people return year after year to La Sablonnerie, with utternly fresh lobster on the menu (affordably) each evening - in half a dozen guises! The whole day swimming or scrambling over the rocks and pools or in the caves of Little Sark is perfectly capped by this luxurious evening meal.

In the bar, canapés are served as the order for dinner is taken by the coal or log fire before going the dining room: the atmosphere is intimate and warm.

La Sablonnerie and independent and endearing place, and we would not have stayed elsewhere. All the food seems fresh and excellently cooked and, in the best sense of the words, the place reminds one of the way things were before band, branded commercialism began to leave even our most ingenious holiday plans predictably tick-box. Long may it continue, under its doughty and capable owner, Elizabeth Perree.

Don't let any of the less appreciative and puzzling remarks on this site mislead you - the place is a recurrent marvel to which many people seem to return again and again.

The lunches served in the gardens of the main hotel and of the neighbouring annexe (La Pipeterie) are of course, more than worth the trip over La Coupee both for day trippers and longer-staying visitors to the island.

By the way, in how many hotels in such a location could you be go for a walk in the dark after dinner and come back to a real coal fire in your bedroom? You can here, in one room I have used. A week seems like ten days here.

Finally, when night falls, you have that sense of the romantic nearness of the sea, rustling under the cliffs.

Do try it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

La Sablonnerie is such perfection that one might think that it exists only in a dream. But for those wishing to have a 19th-century experience in the 21st century, head to Little Sark for the Proustien experience par excellence -- a sojourn at La Sablonnerie during which dream becomes reality. We come every summer from California to Normandy and have even spent time in the south of England. Nothing, however, comes close to the authenticity of La Sablonnerie which is a true "auberge" from another era. Surrounded by fields and the sea beyond, the hotel is niched in a garden setting beyond perfection in which flourish hydrangeas, fushias and an array of other colorful flowers. The inn is out of a novel of yesteryear with cozy rooms and charming decor. Our cottage (rooms 14-15), with its two bedrooms and two bathrooms connected by a spacious sitting room, suited our needs perfectly because this summer's jaunt was a three-generational outing which included my daughter and her six year-old daughter. We had breakfast every moring out of doors, and a special table was set for us in the garden for dinner so that my granddaughter would play between courses. Oh, did I mention the cuisine? Or the Sark lobsters fished daily which appear nightly on the menu? La Sablonnerie has cuisine so haute that you would think you are at one of France's best restaurants. We will return La Sablonnerie because it is literally "out of this world." This is partly due to the the site itself but also to the Perree Family who run it with verve and are the perfect hosts. La doyenne, Elizabeth, is "une vraie aubergiste" who cares for her guests in ways which no longer exist in the hotel industry of today. Her sister-in-law corresponded with us via e-mail so that we could identify the precise accommodations that suited our needs, her brother met our boat in a horse-driven carriage to take us to the inn, and her adorable niece allowed my grandddaughter to hold the reigns while we buggied into the village one day to rent bicycles. It was all so perfect... so poetic.... so sublime. Of this past summer's two-month trip to Europe, La Sablonnerie Experience was the absolute highlight!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
704 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
831 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martins
336 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: £344 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing