We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Marguerite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Marguerite
Ranked #3 of 10 Sark B&B and Inns
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week on Sark, our rooms were comfortable, well presented and spotless. Delicious free range eggs provided by the chickens who greeted us every morning! A beautiful location with a true hardworking Sark family. Looking forward to our next visit. Ms S Hunjan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It's often said that holidays in Sark are like going back in time, and so it was for us - a peaceful island, with no cars (though quite a few tractors), no planes, and no tarmac roads - so we had a great time. But staying at La Marguerite was going back in time in a different way, to an old fashioned seaside landlady. The room itself was spacious, clean, light and bright; it was a shame that the shower didn't work - it had clearly been broken for some time but never repaired, so it was difficult to wash hair etc. We would like to have had a full length mirror to check ones dress before going out for the evening, and to have had a power point near a mirror to aid hair drying etc. A nice touch was the provision of the torch for evening use as there are no street lights in Sark and it gets very dark. We were given UHT milk for our tea tray, common enough in a B and B, though we didn't expect old fashioned 'Coffee Mate' - could there be a fridge in the room with some real Sark milk? And there were no glasses to drink water from.
But the real drawback was the breakfast - 8.30 STRICT on the dot - good for chatting to fellow visitors but not for having the flexibility we expect on a holiday. There was no choice offered; the standard 'English' was placed in front of us - no enquiry as to preference, or even whether we were vegetarian! Sausages were cheap, thin and tasteless, the toast made from sliced bread, and was cold. Only packet butter was provided with no alternative spread offered. Why not fresh Sark butter? Our landlady, Suzette was pleasant enough but sometimes gave the impression it was all too much trouble - like the time when at 6 pm, there was no hot water. It was put on, it seemed begrudgingly - we still don't know if it was on a timer or broken down. All this on an island where there is concern about the commercial activities (a 'take over') from a pair of local millionaires who have pushed up standards in local hotels to an impressive degree. If the Sarkese want to compete in today's market, they will have to do better than our experience at La Marguerite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diner135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just back from 8 nights at La Marguerite, Sark. What a wonderful holiday.
Our accommodation was spacious and very clean. A lovely ground floor room with plenty of space to sit and watch the large flat screen tv (when we had time!)
Suzette and Baz very friendly and we had lots of conversations at breakfast.
Breakfast was great and very varied - never had the same meal twice. At a hotel by the second day I have to say 'no sausage, or no egg' but I never got bored with the same thing here.
La Marguerite is located close to the village (just turn right at the crossroad and it's on the right) and is very convenient for everything.
If we come back to Sark we know where we will be coming back to stay.
Thanks Suzette for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollydancer407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Comfy and spacious accommodation, cosy attic rooms, great breakfast, friendly hosts ( Suzette and Bas), well located to village and harbour. Thanks for a lovely 2 night stay. Jenny, Anne, Chris and Saras.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Thank you to Sue and Bas for another amazing stay, such a shame it was only one night
Planning my next visit already and only been back at work one day
If you want a truly home from home family experience then this is the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northern78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

"Spending many weeks of the year on long haul business trips arriving in Sark is a welcome change but the friendly welcome and amazing home comforts that Suzette delivers on every trip is a breath of fresh air!! Who would want the restrictions of a clinical stuffy hotel (which I have the pleasure of frequenting on my overseas business trips) when you a wonderful room where the sunlight floods in and a piping hot shower to revive you in the morning after a blissful nights sleep!

La Marguerite is perfectly situated on the Island with everything just a short stroll away. All of this coupled with the knowledge that Bas and Suzette have of the island and the many tales they have to tell just make this the most idyllic place to stay.

My wife and I have now stayed with Baz and Suzette on many occasions and we will be back before this year is out for sure! I cannot recommend La Marguerite enough."

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJS-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at La Marguerite after staying in a 3 star hotel in St Peter Port and were blown away by the facilities which were far superior to that hotel. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated - we both said "wow" as we went in. Sue wasn't there when we arrived but had left a welcoming note for us. We met her later that afternoon and were made to feel at home. This is certainly a place that you can relax. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a very friendly manner. We enjoyed chatting to Sue who was very informative about Sark. We realized that 2 days was not enough to enjoy the island. The location of La Marguerite is the best on the island being so near The Avenue and it was so easy to wander out in the evenings to eat and enjoy quiet moonlight walks. We hope that we will be able to return to Sark soon and we will be staying at la Marguerite again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
0.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Clos de Vaul Creux
Clos de Vaul Creux
#5 of 10 in Sark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pourquoi Pas B&B
Pourquoi Pas B&B
#1 of 3 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marguerite

Property: La Marguerite
Address: La Marguerite La Marguerite Rue Lucas, GY10 1SG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sark
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Marguerite Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing