We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not rate "La Maison Rouge" highly enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Rouge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison Rouge B&B
Ranked #4 of 10 Sark B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not rate "La Maison Rouge" highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rosie and Peter offer the warmest of welcomes and nothing, and I mean nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are light and airy and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous with local produce used wherever possible and will really set you up for the day ahead exploring the beautiful island of Sark. The location of La Maison Rouge is excellent and recommendations are always available for dinner in one of the many excellent local restaurants. The peace and quiet and natural beauty of Sark cannot be expressed in words alone, a visit is a must and a stay at La Maison Rouge could not be recommended highly enough. Treat yourself to a visit to Sark and I guarantee that you will be welcomed as "part of the family" and will be returning for many years to come!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonnyGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a wonderful visit here over the Easter weekend for the Sark Starfest. Spotless accommodation with a lovely family. We had our own en suite and separate entrance and comfortable room. Music and art are everywhere in this house. Every morning we enjoyed absolutely delicious breakfasts and lingered chatting over the table - we were made to feel really at home here. Breakfasts were delicious - home made bread, home made marmalade, Sark butter, Sark sausages and freshly laid eggs from Rosie and Peter's hens. Sark is a very special place and we can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 988Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great B&B in a pleasant location near the Window in the Rock. We stayed in the double room which is pleasant and spacious with a huge and very comfortable bed. Breakfast is excellent, mostly local produce including fresh eggs from the garden. Rosie and Peter are great hosts and very helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I like to spend as much time in Sark as I possibly can and I always look to stay at La Maison Rouge, so much so it has now become a home from home. The food is always excellent and plentiful with seasonal home grown produce on offer. All in all a very positive and friendly place to be!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Angele-Fleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here, in July 2013, and will be staying here again, in June 2014. Located in the North of the island, it is in a lovely location. Rosanne and Peter were very welcoming, and always helpful. The room was nice, with big windows, letting in lots of sunshine, and we had our own private entrance. Breakfast was always good, and you won't get fresher eggs! We love Sark, and loved staying here. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fantastic service from both Rosie and Peter as well as world class food including Sark sausages and a wide range of dining options during both breakfast and dinner in terms of recommendations for local restaurants and spots in which one might enjoy a picnic. Overall a very pleasant place to stay in which a fault cannot be found!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed on Sark for four days in December, not exactly prime tourist season, but was there to hike around a take a look and the weather was great. Maison Rouge was the perfect place to stay. I had my own room down a corridor with my own entrance, clean bathroom, and view to garden, and up the hallway a very nice family to spend time with when I wanted to. Rosanne, a painter, is from one of the original Sark families, and Peter, an Irish musician, works down at the port: if you choose to find out, there is a whole lot on happening on Sark and I was fascinated to be so well informed. Also, as I was there for research, Roseanne connected me to every person who might help. The food was really good, local fish, local cream. In fact, Roseanne took me fishing and I'm sure if I'd managed to pull something out of the ocean, she would have cooked that. So, I highly recommend this place. One woman I met came out to the island in a similar fashion to me, stayed at Maison Rouge, and relocated--permanently--to Sark. So, don't stay here if you want to suffer a vague dissatisfaction at being elsewhere than Sark. Or if you're not interested in becoming Sarkese yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 415Sarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
0.7 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.5 mi away
The White House Hotel
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
7.9 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Rouge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Rouge B&B

Property: La Maison Rouge B&B
Address: GY10 1SF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Rouge Guest House is the self-built family home of Sark landscape and wildlife artist Rosanne Guille MA (RCA) and singer/songwriter Peter Gabriel Byrne. On a quiet lane adjacent to La Seigneurie woodland, open fields and a short walk to the stunning coastline, the Window in the Rock and Port du Moulin beach. Open all year. Evening meals available on request using local produce whenever we can. Licensed to serve alcohol with evening meals. Residential art, sea fishing and music holidays with expert tuition also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Rouge B&B Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing