We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Luckily I hadn't read the reviews before I stayed. We were on a hen do with 11 people. The owner was great - bit like a grandad that makes lots of innuendo. I assume it's a bit hit and miss his style. But we were cool with it. The bathrooms were weird, but functional and the shower was lovely. The beds were awesome and I slept like a rock. It's not a luxury hotel in the least, but the staff were accommodating and friendly, especially as its hard with such a large group. For the price, excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delamarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    67
    67
    55
    99
See reviews for
53
133
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

When we arrived at the hotel the manager was very pleasant. We then had to pay cash, which he insisted on which isn't a problem but some of the group had to travel out to a cash machine. we had booked a large number of rooms, one of the doubles was single occupancy and the manager had agreed prior t our arrival a £10 discount due to this. When we arrived he demanded the extra £10 and soon turned sour! We also booked the extra double as the manager informed us there were no three bed bedrooms. However, one of our rooms had three beds in and we still had to pay for the extra room!

We were a large group for a hen do so weren't too fussy about the hotel. However, the rooms are very basic and nothing like the photos on their website! Not very clean and the bathroom is basically non-existent as its so tiny! Some fixtures were broken and stains on some of the surfaces. The breakfast was not good either - cheap food. The manager also got angry that we all wanted something different! The customer service was terrible, especially from the manager. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! The only good thing is the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

when I read the reviews I was a bit concerned about staying at this hotel but I can honestly say that I found the owners/staff very friendly and willing to help. The bathroom was small but as the size of a bathroom is not something I would choose to complain about, it was equipped with the essentials so no issues there. The bed was comfy and I had a good sleep. Breakfast was good with extra drinks given automatically. When we were in reception, other guests were leaving and thanking the owners for a wonderful stay and saying they would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really impressed with this hotel what a bargain, ideal location 5mins walk from city centre and less than 2mins from convenience shops and takeaways. Rooms were clean decent size and fully equipped staff were very friendly, I will defiantly be staying here again xxx

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanneM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we realised that it was not a hotel but a guest house. That being said we tried to have an open mind. There was a bad odour in the place and it looked very tatty. We had booked a family room and the owner brought us up to a room that was still not made up (this is at 5pm!!). He then brought us to the other side of the house to another room. Room was big but we were a bed short - he said that he would provide us with a roll away bed. When he left we checked out the bathroom which was basically like a caravan loo with a tiny shower as part of it. The tiny sink was actually in the shower itself. You actually had to stand in the shower to close the bathroom door. The bedclothes looked grubby and there was actually small holes in the duvet cover. We did not stay in this hotel as it was awful (even the kids were begging to leave). My husband explained all of this to the owner who just shrugged his shoulders - he offered no apologies, no refund. Absolutely terrible and one to be avoided !!!!

Room Tip: Do your research on Trip advisor BEFORE booking. We ended up staying at the premier inn which was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had booked this hotel for my hen weekend in Chester,14 of us in total, all professional people 30 years old plus. I had spoken to Sal the owner back in September to book this hotel and had on record many emails stating the correct number of people in our party and also the final cost for the two days. All agreed and in writing on email. Not once or twice but I have 3 emails stating this. I had actually spoken to the owner verbally on many occasions and had this confirmed.

However on arrival Friday night we were told that he had 15 booked in and he needed double the money as the person who quoted the price on email had left and it was wrong. Sal first stated on the desk he just worked there, 1 hour later he was in fact the owner. Now as you can imagine organising 14 people with payment is a job in itself, money had been paid by everyone and we have been told we were to be in rooms of 2.

The man on the desk said if we did not pay the extra we could not stop, so to say I was upset and the thought of my hen weekend being ruined was an understatement!.

We had all travel from over the country, Lincoln, Solihull etc.. people had paid to get the train, drive up and even pay to park their cars up the road for the two days.

As soon as I found the orginal emails on my phone the man (Sal - owner) still would not let us have the room, he was rude and completely unhelpful! As a director of my own Company I have never been treated in this manor and it has taken me 3 days to write this review as I was so angry.

After trying to move hotels we realised that 14 of us on a Friday afternoon this was never going to happen, he gave us no option but to be put in rooms of 5 people, however this was under duress.

However after reading the reports below it looks like he overbooked hence why our cost doubled and also we end up in rooms of 5.

The hotel itself is fine for a hen weekend, in a girls eyes you can tell a man runs this place, dirty skirting boards (don't think they have ever been wiped)

Bathrooms are a caravan bathroom - semi clean but not after a day with 5 people going in and out. They are about 70cm wide by 2 metres's long - this includes shower, loo and sink.

Matress is uncomfortable and I am sure the camp bed would have been too that others had to stop on. Our room faced the front of the hotel which was noisey!

Sal the owner is a very strange person, evil on checkin and then slimy, creepy and a bit perverted dishing out rude remarks, don't get me wrong we were a hen do but why would I want to run off with him as he is rich (as he put it) and that is has loads of money and he would like to take me out!!!... all of this just made me feel sick (me being 33 and him well into his late 50's). If this was not my hen do and other people had not paid to go then I would have told him where to stick his hotel.

Also please not when I booked this hotel he asked for £50 despoit on my card, and then the rest in cash (wink wink!! - make your own mid up mr tax man!)

Sal if you read this review I hope your will in future perhaps behave in a manor of a hotel owner!!

If anyone would like to see my emails as proof of all of the above please feel free to PM me on here.

So to finish unless this hotel changes hands do not stay here!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lozeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked for 4 of us to stay in 2 twin rooms for 1 night. The others had to check in before I could arrive and on their arrival the man initially said he had no rooms. When they insisted we had a booking he checked and said we had a twin and a double. The girls insisted it should be 2 twins but were told it was a double and a twin and he was fully booked and had nothing else. As the girls didn't have proof of the booking (it was with me) they had to agree. The rooms were ok, but not particularly clean and the bathrooms were basically caravan bathrooms in a cupboard!! When we returned from our night out the card key for our room would not work and the reception was unmanned. There was an emergency number and we were dealt with about 10mins after our call. The rooms were far too hot overnight. The following morning the shower door fell off! Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. But the owner (who had been so rude on check in) suddenly couldn't do enough for us and was actually quite creepy with his "flirting"! He obviously knew we wanted to complain and was trying to butter us up. However, when we went to check out & asked a question we were suddenly ignored when other customers came along. Customer service is non-existent. Wishing we'd opted for the Premier Inn down the road! Definitely will NOT be staying here again or recommending it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.6 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#15 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#20 of 44 in Chester
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Property: Lloyds of Chester
Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester
Lloyds Of Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing