We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very poor hotel (B+B)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very poor hotel (B+B)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

booked lloyds of chester last minute for a overnight stay with extended family. on arrival we were directed to the back of the hotel to park. we walked through the back area into the dinning room which seemed clean and tidy- then it went down hill. the manager stated he had only been here for 2 week ( but i think this was a lie) and dint really know the hotel that well. we were directed to our rooms (1 twin, 1 family) which were basic, dated and a bit scruffy. the 'shower room' was a very small wet room which you couldnt really turn around in. Bedding very cheap
we went to reception to book a taxi to take us to a restaurant we had booked and asked the manager if there was a bar in the hotel- he was very rude and said 'we do not serve alcohol to you'. when i said that there was a picture of a bar on the website he just ignored me. we were informed that he would be leaving the hotel at 10pm as he lived next door. i was concerned that we were not aware that the hotel was unmaned overnight- again i was ignored. he had told my mum that there was a emergancy number to ring if he was needed but this wasnt displayed in the rooms just on the front door. very poor service from the manager
this isnt a hotel- its a b+b. the breakfast was ok but everyting was overdone and fried. the girl serving the breakfast was lovely and helpfull.
the hotel is nothing like the website - very flattering pictures. do not book this hoel- spend a bit more for something nicer- if we hadnt have arrived late in the day we would have moved hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wella1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    66
    67
    55
    93
See reviews for
53
128
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friends and I stopped here for a hen do and were disappointed. We were supposed to be getting twin rooms and got given family rooms. The bathrooms are TINY! You only get supplied with one towel, no bath mat or hand towel. The decor is old and in need to improvement and there were stains and cigarette burns on some of the bedding. The room keys failed on several occasions and the rooms themselves were very warm. Positives are the breakfast (although had to wait for a table as non available) and proximity to the train station (5 mins walk max). Had to pay £5.70 for 24 hr car parking just at end of road. Overall very disappointing. A bit shabby and poor customer service. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked this hotel despite the reviews as it was cheaper than many of the others, and included breakfast in the cost.

We drove up to the hotel, looking for a place to park, but were very disappointed to find that despite advertising free parking, we had to pay to park in the train station car park, at £5.70 for 24 hrs. We arrived at the hotel around 2.30pm, and as there was no-one at the reception desk, we rang the bell. We tried the bell a couple more times, and it was around 10 minutes until the manager finally came. He was quiet but friendly, and proceeded to show us our room.

Upon first impressions, the room was tiny. The furniture was cheap and tatty. The mattress was thin and very soft. The room overlooked a flat roof, and there were dirty socks outside our room! The walls were dirty, with peeling paint. The mugs were mismatched, and there was only one spoon. Oh and they didn't bothered to put clean ones in for us for the second night, but did provide fresh towels and clean bedding. The bedside lamps didn't work, either. One thing that really bugged me was that the windows were very overlooked but there were no net curtains up at the window, so we had no privacy unless we shut the curtains. The television was very fuzzy, and some of the channels would change to other channels for no apparent reason, and others would work for a few seconds and then wouldn’t work again – likely to be due to a poor signal.

The "bathroom" was a tiny wet room, around 2.5 foot by 5 foot, and the toilet sunk floor at one side (it felt like being on a ship!). The loo seemed to leak; bleach blocks in the cistern made the loo water blue, and there was somehow blue water all over the floor. The sink was practically on top of the loo. The shower was a nice shower, but was waaaayyy too small (around 2.5 feet square). I am 5'3" and felt claustrophobic. My 5’11” partner kept banging his arms on the elbows on the walls trying to wash! There was also no drain cover. The fan cover was covered in dust. The first night we stayed there were no cups on the bathroom, although some had been put in the second day.

We also noticed there were no towels, good job it was only after hand washing and not after having a shower! We mentioned this to a housemaid when we went out and by the time we came back there was some in our room, although only 2 small bath towels, although were lovely and soft, and no hand towels.

After a long night (I never sleep well in other beds), it was finally breakfast time. We went down around 8.30, and took the last table. Many people arriving after us had to sit in another area, and they seem neglected by the waiting staff. On the first morning, there were only two members of staff. One asked us several times what we wanted to eat, and the other forgot to bring us the toast so it was cold. There were only two choices of cereal - corn flakes and muesli, and fresh orange juice or tea or coffee to drink, despite the menu on the website advertising a wide range more. The cooked breakfast was also a disappointment, one cheap slightly pink sausage, a tiny slice of bacon, an over done fried egg, tinned mushrooms, one hash brown and some tomato. The website also stated there would be fried bread and black pudding. The vegetarian breakfast wasn't a vegetarian breakfast; it just didn't have a sausage or bacon, and no extra items to make up for the lack of meat. However, we did get three slices of toast each and there were mounds of butter and jam/marmalade.

It was also difficult to tell who members of staff were, the men wore suit trousers and a shirt, but the women wore jeans and a jumper. A simple dress code would have sorted this out, or even name tags.

The management at Lloyds could make a few simple changes to improve the hotel (more like a B&B), but I doubt they'll bother; it really seemed minimum effort for maximum profit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

No parking available at hotel even tho advertised free parking, had to use local pay and display, no refund from hotel bill for having to pay £16 parking charges. Rooms basic and shower/toilet area very small. Would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hewitt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stopped for a hen party and the service was very friendly. We were able to check in just after 12 . Rooms were lovely and clean ... Shower room/wet room is teeny tiny though but was ample for what we needed it for. Breakfast was good and service was quick. They put balloons and a banner in the room for us too! Would stop again without a doubt , thank you very much for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We staid at LLoyds of Chester 21/07/2012 for my hen do, on arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and helped everyone to there rooms. The rooms were a good size and very clean all though the bathrooms were a little small but had everything in them you would have needed. The staff went out of there way to go and get the group taxi's in the evening as there was a half a hour wait :-) and the breakfast the next day was excellent too, all in all this was a great hotel and made my hen do even better night. big thanks to all the staff :-)) x

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

stayed here this weekend for 2 nights my daughter and myself for a shopping trip,lovely hotel very central 5mins walk from train station 5 mins into city.room was very nice had everything you need ,breakfast was excellent loads to choose from staff very helpful and friendly thank you we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank size5s2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#19 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Property: Lloyds of Chester
Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester
Lloyds Of Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing