We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safety hazard”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Safety hazard”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The rooms where filthy, damp the bathroom facility's were taken straight from a 1970's caravan. Bed linen stains. but worst of all there were bare wires to the side of the tv Witch was next to my four year olds bed. The managers response was that we should have read previous reviews before booking .Needless to say we checked out without staying the night!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1788554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    66
    67
    55
    95
See reviews for
53
129
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at this "hotel " in April and it's safe to say that the photos on booking.com make it look a lot better than it really is! This is no way a three star hotel more like one star. It looks shabby, the rooms defiantly need a lick of paint. The room was quite big but the bedding was flannel bedding, the pillows were stained yellow and didn't look very clean. The bathroom is very small...made out of plastic like you would imagine in a caravan. The view out of our window was a fire escape and the car park....which wasn't a car park just a back street with a few spare spaces - didn't feel that safe leaving the car there. The only good thing was the lady on reception was very friendly and nice. If your not bothered where you stay and just want a bed for the night then go for it....but you wouldn't want to spend much time here .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I was apprehensive about our booking at this hotel after reading previous reviews, and as my card had been charged before we arrived I was unable to cancel the booking, I should have used Booking.com...
However it proved to be fine, it is not 3 star, more like 1star, that being said the Lady who is running the hotel whilst the owner is away,was exceptionally helpful and kind . Our rooms were changed as she could see my husband was not fit enough to carry a case up two flights of stairs ( I had requested lower floor adjacent rooms on a telephone booking with the owner, but he had allocated upper floor rooms) . The rooms were both large, clean with good hanging space (we were there for a big wedding) . The bathrooms are not good, just small pods, ours was very clean , but my daughters not so good and even smaller. WiFi was excellent and free, breakfast very good, freshly cooked with a good choice of all things full English , plus yogurts cereals juice croissants and pastries, and green tea available. Housekeeping efficient , bedding somewhat worn and although clean didn't feel fresh. All in all value for money if you are not too fussy. Plus I left my iPad behind, and when I realised the next day, they had it still when we phoned. I am not sure other establishments would have been so honest.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I booked into this hotel after looking at the photos and price, also as it was close to the train station. Myself and daughter (who was attending a university audition) worried needlessly after reading other reviews. On arrival we were shown to a CLEAN room, with plenty of tea and coffee etc. There was also lots of little soaps and a couple of small bottles of body wash in the bathroom. As stated in other reviews the bathroom is small, but very functional and the shower was very powerful and hot! (Please be aware if you are planning a party in the bathroom or want to sleep in there, then this hotel isn't for you ;-))
My daughter and I had a great nights sleep in a COMFORTABLE bed, which incidentally had CLEAN bedding on it! The room was lovely and WARM. The view from our window wasn't great (but we had no plans to sit looking out of the window anyway)
Breakfast was freshly prepared and served by HELPFUL and FRIENDLY staff.
This hotel is a few minutes walk from bkth the train station and the city centre and was GREAT value for money. I WOULD BOOK AGAIN!
After reading other reviews I am convinced that some people just like to find fault!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireMummybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Lloyd's for 2 nights at the start of February, when coming to Chester for a friend's birthday. I booked it purely on the price, as everywhere else I looked at seemed ridiculously expensive and was extremely worried when I read some of the reviews before we arrived. However, for what we needed it was perfect. The location is very close to the station which was handy when we arrived and it takes about 10 minutes to walk into the centre. It is also handy for a great pub with real ale and ciders, which is almost right across the road.
The owner was extremely friendly to us both on arrival and whenever we saw him throughout the stay. He gave us some useful information we required regarding directions and was really pleasant.
Breakfast was nice and included an interesting spicy/herby sausage and a hash brown; we had struggled to find many other places where it was actually included in the price so were very happy with it, especially as there was plenty of butter!
We had the room which other people have complained about, with a fire escape just outside but I didn't feel at all unsafe. The room itself was clean, tidy and warm. The bedcovers were a bit woolly, which some people may not like, but I found it cosy.
The bathroom, as noted in other reviews, is a kind of self-contained pod, but I couldn't see why this was not a problem, particularly as the shower was amazing - really hot and powerful.
Overall, we had a great stay in a warm, clean room in a good location for us; it is not the height of luxury but the price was very reasonable and the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 27th and 28th January. We were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to a family room free of charge! as the one we had booked would be too small for me, hubby and baby, room was very clean and tidy, maid service and fresh towels every day. Bathroom a bit small but as me and hubby are petite it didn't effect us. Yes u could here traffic outside but our room was facing a busy main road, the room was lovely and warm. Breakfast was very nice. Hot breakfast was freshly cooked to order and staff we're very friendly towards baby. For a three star hotel its what we expected. We would stay here again. Man on desk (foreign) very welcoming and nice.... thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katierose1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked into the hotel to find our room was Freezing cold ! ( 01/2/14) . I was told the heating was on a timer ! There was no thermostat in the room ! The shower unit resembled an old portaloo , which was to small for my 6ft hsband to squeeze into and the toilet was as small as an plane loo .I found that the bedding was clean but shabby , and the pillows were stained. Im glad we only stayed for 1 night !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#22 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Property: Lloyds of Chester
Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester
Lloyds Of Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing