We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
53
77
76
59
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
77
76
59
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationserved its purposefull englishshower roomtea and coffeetown centredouble bedvisit chestercerealhairdryeriron
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with 8 friends and have no complaints at all! Sal, the owner was lovely and couldnt do enough for us. Yes, the bathroom is a pod but it's ample, the rooms were large and clean and had everything you'd need.

They don't sell alcohol but the owner let us use the bar area and bring our own drinks, snacks and music.

Breakfast was great, full cooked, cereals, pastries,toast, tea and coffee

It's 10 min walk into the centre of Chester so brill location

Would deffo stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be a little noisy with busy road outside
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxinebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Where do we start, well we arrived and the outside certainly looks nothing like the pictures on the web. Our room although large enough was not the cleanest and we were left a little present in the toilet. Now to the en-suite the bathroom is a pod in the corner of the room and comprises of a plastic shower and a toilet and sink in a thing dropped off from a caravan. The breakfast on the first day was a laugh, The gentleman asked what we wanted and we asked for a full English, he walked into the kitchen and returned immediately with the breakfast, it had obviously been sitting on a hot plate for a while and tasted awful. The breakfast improved over the next couple of days but the rooms didn't. The fire doors were always jammed open and every time we closed them someone came behind us and jammed them open, even the main emergency exit half way up the stairs was blocked with rubbish.My advice is avoid at all costs SAVE YOURSELVES PLEASE.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreigB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Looks nothing like the photos on the web; it's very old and dirty. The staff friendly enough. The bathroom and shower is just a plastic pod. The whole building should be pulled down and if ever in Chester again will sleep in my car rather than stay here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on bank holiday weekend, the place is very dirty and not very well run. Our room had stains (finger marks and dirt) on all of the walls the washroom/toilet was dirty and dated and smelt so strong of bleach ( probably to hide urine smell) . you can't call it a bathroom as its only a tiny box room! We arrived a couple of hours early and were told room not ready , OK no problem there we just parked near the train station ( no parking spaces left in hotel) and then walked into town to do some shopping etc, went back to the hotel to check in at 17:15 to have quick shower as we had booked a restaurant at 6:45. We were told there was no towels in the rooms and would have to wait "about 30 minutes" after initially being told by the receptionist that he "don't know" when the towels would be ready ! Anyway made sure I drank enough that night so i could have a good nights sleep back at the hotel without thinking about the dirty room! I know this hotel is cheaper than other hotels in Chester but after staying there i would rather pay a bit more for somewhere clean! ( and towels)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ianjones1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here at the weekend and was a bit dubious after reading various bad reviews, however we had a wonderful time. The hotel and beds were clean and although basic this is a good place to stay. We were made very welcome by the hotel staff and management and nothing was too much trouble. I agree bathrooms are small but showers were clean and powerful.
All in all I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malton20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews