We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
53
77
76
59
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
77
76
59
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationserved its purposefull englishshower roomtea and coffeetown centredouble bedvisit chestercerealhairdryeriron
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

was very disappointed with the customer service and the arrogance of the manager of this hotel.we were due to spend the weekend at this hotel but due to my mother in law having a fall and breaking her hip we thought it was better to cancel.we spoke to the manager to explain the situation but he didnt want to know /we asked if we could change the date of our break in chester for our wedding anniversary.but he said no .i wish to thank him for his compassionin this situation. not

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank jackiemartin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked this hotel based on its 3 star rating and location to the city centre. On arrival its clear that it needs a refurbish on the outside so not a good start. Parking is based on a first come first served basis, with about 5 spaces round the back of the hotel we got lucky. At the very least you expect your room to be clean, but unfortunately it was a disgrace. The sheets looked like they had not been washed, definately not what you want to sleep in. The towels where stained and black and matched the aweful bathroom, which looks like its come out of a camper van, tiny is an understatement. Compared to other hotels in Chester its not exactly located close to the city centre. All the bad reviews we have now found about this hotel are well founded so do yourself a huge favour and DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL, there is no way this is 3 star. There are lots of far better hotels and B&B's in Chester for the around the same price.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel, but made use of the luggage minding service as Chester Station does not store luggage. You can leave a suitcase/pack at Lloyds for 5pounds a day. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station, so it's very convenient. Friendly service.

Also, there are lots of places to eat along Brook St, whilst not the same views as in town or by the river, the prices are cheaper, and again, close to the station if you're waiting for a train.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The pictures on site must have been taken a while ago as now it looks really tatty, the room was way to warm there was a fan which we put on but couldnt leave window open when we were'nt there as we had a fire escape right outside the window also the bathroom was comical so small if you bent down you hit your head and the extractor fan was laughable it was useless. The towels were not changed and were still damp the next day when we showered

Room Tip: dont bother
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiet1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beware when booking at this hotel. We booked on 6th may for 2 nights 1st and 2nd august. On 8th july the hotel decide to call and cancel our booking as they do not take amex which we used to book with. The hotel is now fully booked leaving us to search for alternative accommodation with only 3weeks to go, along with other people in our party who we were travelling with. When I explained this the assistant manager told me to go find somewhere else to stay and put the phone down. I have NEVER had such bad manners/customer service in all the hotels I have ever stayed in. They do not deserve the business.

Room Tip: Dont bother giving them your custom
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank kazcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews