We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel in a great location”
Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester
1 review
“A friendly hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

A great hotel in a good location. Service was excellent. Hotel was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekenderManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    67
    67
    55
    99
See reviews for
53
133
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I booked a double bed room for two nights over the weekend, which came with breakfast included. The room was very nice and was spacious. The room was super, having a great tv and a good iron for once in a hotel! The breakfast was nice, along with there was as much as you wanted to eat. We felt like we were being waited on idividually. As I was new to Chester I wanted to find out information, I asked behind the counter and they were very happy to help me out. The one thing that stood out from the stay at Lloyds guest house was the service. I cannot express how welcomed I felt as soon as I opened the door, with things getter better as time went by. When I needed anything, I just asked and I was delt with within minutes. I really enjoyed my stay here and would love to return. I would also recommend it to any others!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammylax112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Can I just say what a fantastic hotel. The Manager/Owner Sal is a fantastic host, he made all of us feel so welcome. From the moment we walked in, we knew we were going to have a lovely stay.
The rooms are so clean and tidy, everything you need is there, even an iron and ironing board.
Tea and coffee, was plentiful in the room too.
The beds were so comfortable too. Not often you can say that about a hotel.
The only negative, if you can call it a negative, was that we didn't stay there long enough!
A great base for shopping, sight seeing and the races.
Thank you Sal for a lovely little stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kts41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I have stayed there many times over the years. Great friendly staff and owner.
Nice clean rooms Flat/S Freeview TV most rooms. Free Internet. See web Site
Great Location close to Railway Station and town. Free Bus from railway station to town
Good Price Great Hotel.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rail007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

stayed here may 2010
they put us in the guest house attached... the actual hotel is far nicer so ask if u can stay in that, rooms very basic. but u dont really spend that much time in your room.
very clean, bathroom very tiny, bit like a portaloo.
service was great! couldnt do enough for you.
breakfast was really nice in the resturant. full english and theyll do extras if u wanted

we payed £30 per person, but think its dearer to stay in the hotel part as appose to the guest house.

up the road from train statiom, n a quick ride into town in a taxi

not a bad hotel overall. would stay again but i would request the main hotel

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG84oooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Creepy owner , make sure you check your key actually works as the "emergency number" doesn't and you may be without a room for the night (like we were) - caravans have larger bathrooms and they have 2 week old milk sat on the breakfast tables - mmmmm .. all in all I would NOT recommend you stay here unless you have a penchant for ultimate weirdness. The breakfast is somewhat vile and the majority of it is way past its sell by date. Unless desperate, dont bother.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

oldham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

What a nightmare!! Owner is slimy!!! Half of the staff dont speak English and the other half look like they are on drugs. Bathroom is a portaloo. Breakfast was disgusting, with out of date sauce, gone off milk and orange juice thats been sat there for hours.

Myself and a group of friends stayed for the weekend, after a evening out, we came back to the hotel and couldnt get into our room as the card key wasnt working. There was no night porter or receptionist in the hotel. There was a emergency number but it was invaild!!!!!! We was stuck, lucky as we was in a group we had two rooms, so we all sqeezed into 1 room. When i complained to the manager in the morning he refused to accept blame, no refund was given.

DONT GO!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.6 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#15 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#19 of 44 in Chester
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Property: Lloyds of Chester
Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester
Lloyds Of Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing